The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Is that fair? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/57702-fair.html)

bsaucer Fri Mar 26, 2010 06:51pm

Is that fair?
 
Is any portion of the batter's box in fair territory? Assuming so, if the batter stands with one foot in the fair portion of the box, and his batted ball hits this foot, what is the ruling?

UmpJM Fri Mar 26, 2010 07:07pm

bsaucer,

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsaucer (Post 670856)
Is any portion of the batter's box in fair territory?

Yes.

Quote:

Assuming so, if the batter stands with one foot in the fair portion of the box, and his batted ball hits this foot, what is the ruling?
FOUL!!

JM

UmpTTS43 Fri Mar 26, 2010 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsaucer (Post 670856)
Is any portion of the batter's box in fair territory? Assuming so, if the batter stands with one foot in the fair portion of the box, and his batted ball hits this foot, what is the ruling?

Just over 13% of the total size of the box.

Ditto to what JM said.

ozzy6900 Fri Mar 26, 2010 08:08pm

Unless the batter is Tiny Tim, some part of him is going to be in foul territory and that's all it takes to make a ball foul.

bob jenkins Fri Mar 26, 2010 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 670875)
Unless the batter is Tiny Tim, some part of him is going to be in foul territory and that's all it takes to make a ball foul.

I don't follow.

By (a literal reading of the) rule, the batter would be out if he's hit by a fair ball in fair territory. It wouldn't matter that one foot (the foot not hit by the ball) was in foul territory.

By interp, it's foul if it hits the batter while the batter is still in the box. It's a common question for newer umpires.

yawetag Sat Mar 27, 2010 01:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 670882)
I don't follow.

By (a literal reading of the) rule, the batter would be out if he's hit by a fair ball in fair territory. It wouldn't matter that one foot (the foot not hit by the ball) was in foul territory.

By interp, it's foul if it hits the batter while the batter is still in the box. It's a common question for newer umpires.

In Fed, it is plainly written, though. OBR, there's nothing to defend the "in the box" rule.

MrUmpire Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 670875)
Unless the batter is Tiny Tim, some part of him is going to be in foul territory and that's all it takes to make a ball foul.

What? Whatever happened to "it's the location of the ball, not the player"?

As Bob said, it's by interpretation and tradition that we call a foul when a batter is hit while in the box, regardless of where in the box.

UmpTTS43 Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 670948)
What? Whatever happened to "it's the location of the ball, not the player"?

As Bob said, it's by interpretation and tradition that we call a foul when a batter is hit while in the box, regardless of where in the box.

Unless the batter is hit with his fair ball while he has one foot on the ground completely out of the batter's box. The new rules will reflect this currently enforced interpretation.

yawetag Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 670950)
Unless the batter is hit with his fair ball while he has one foot on the ground completely out of the batter's box. The new rules will reflect this currently enforced interpretation.

If he's hit with his foot completely out of the batter's box, he's not in the batter's box.

dash_riprock Sat Mar 27, 2010 04:21pm

I believe the rule says: "If the batter is hit by his own batted ball when he is anywhere near the batter's box, it shall be ruled a foul ball, and the call shall be sold strongly."

The "foot completely out of the box" stuff is a different rule. It applies only at the moment the bat hits the ball.

Rich Ives Sat Mar 27, 2010 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 670980)
I believe the rule says: "If the batter is hit by his own batted ball when he is anywhere near the batter's box, it shall be ruled a foul ball, and the call shall be sold strongly."

The "foot completely out of the box" stuff is a different rule. It applies only at the moment the bat hits the ball.

The new rule in the memo floating around says (added text in the rule is in blue):

6.05

(g) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;

dash_riprock Sat Mar 27, 2010 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 670987)
The new rule in the memo floating around says (added text in the rule is in blue):

6.05

(g) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;

That doesn't make any sense. 6.03 defines the batter's initial position in the box (both feet within the lines). The rule is more lenient when he contacts the ball with the bat (no foot can be on the ground completely out of the box). This means the batter can hit the ball while legally in the box, be hit by the ball and be called out for being hit by a fair ball while out of the box.

I like my version better.

bob jenkins Sat Mar 27, 2010 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 670987)
The new rule in the memo floating around says (added text in the rule is in blue):

6.05

(g) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;

I think the same rules change has an interp (or something) that if the batter has one foot on the ground outside the batters box when he's hit (and assuming the ball is over fair terrotory when it hits him), the batter is out.

There has been discussion in the past whther one foot or two feet were required to be out of the box before the batter could be out.

UmpTTS43 Sat Mar 27, 2010 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 670980)
I believe the rule says: "If the batter is hit by his own batted ball when he is anywhere near the batter's box, it shall be ruled a foul ball, and the call shall be sold strongly."

C'mon Dash, now you're just makin' sh*t up. There is NO rule that says that. That is not even an official interp. Not a rule in OBR, NCAA, or FED.

Or is this another case where my chain is being yanked?

dash_riprock Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:18pm

It was a chain yank. It is also a very common (unwritten) interp.

yawetag Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 671012)
C'mon Dash, now you're just makin' sh*t up. There is NO rule that says that. That is not even an official interp. Not a rule in OBR, NCAA, or FED.

Or is this another case where my chain is being yanked?

FED 7-2-1f: A strike is charged to the batter when: a batted ball contacts the batter in the batter's box (foul ball).

mbyron Sun Mar 28, 2010 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 671044)
FED 7-2-1f: A strike is charged to the batter when: a batted ball contacts the batter in the batter's box (foul ball).

Right: the FED rule expresses explicitly and is based on the (unwritten) OBR interp.

Rich Ives Sun Mar 28, 2010 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 670989)
That doesn't make any sense. 6.03 defines the batter's initial position in the box (both feet within the lines). The rule is more lenient when he contacts the ball with the bat (no foot can be on the ground completely out of the box). This means the batter can hit the ball while legally in the box, be hit by the ball and be called out for being hit by a fair ball while out of the box.

I like my version better.

I don't see a problem. The new rule says if the batter is in a LEGAL position, NOT "initial" position, when hit it's foul.

I think he's is legally in the box UNTIL one foor touches the ground completely outsde the batter's box - because he can legally hit the ball up to that point.

dash_riprock Sun Mar 28, 2010 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 671076)
I don't see a problem. The new rule says if the batter is in a LEGAL position, NOT "initial" position, when hit it's foul.

I think he's is legally in the box UNTIL one foor touches the ground completely outsde the batter's box - because he can legally hit the ball up to that point.

The rule you posted referenced 6.03 for the batter's "legal position" in the box.

Rich Ives Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 671146)
The rule you posted referenced 6.03 for the batter's "legal position" in the box.

And when does it cease being legal??

The only "guidance" we have is that when he hits the ball with one or both feen on the ground entirely out of the box it's illegally hit.

So up until then, he must be legally in the box.

dash_riprock Mon Mar 29, 2010 05:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 671228)
And when does it cease being legal??

According to 6.03, when both feet are not within the lines of the box.

Quote:

The only "guidance" we have is that when he hits the ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely out of the box it's illegally hit.
That "guidance" is for when the batter hits the ball, not when the batted ball hits him. The new rule defines legal position when he is hit with the ball (6.03). As written, according to the new rule, if the batter is hit by a batted ball and both feet are not within the lines of the box, he is out.

I am sure that is not what they meant, but that is what they wrote.

Rich Ives Mon Mar 29, 2010 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 671260)
According to 6.03, when both feet are not within the lines of the box.

So I can have one foot out of the box and be legal?

mbyron Mon Mar 29, 2010 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 671260)
According to 6.03, when both feet are not within the lines of the box.

As Rich's question suggests, this expression is ambiguous between:
a. it's not the case that both feet are within the lines, i.e., one or both feet are outside the box, or
b. both feet are outside the box.

I'm confident that you mean (a). ;)

dash_riprock Mon Mar 29, 2010 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 671287)
As Rich's question suggests, this expression is ambiguous between:
a. it's not the case that both feet are within the lines, i.e., one or both feet are outside the box, or
b. both feet are outside the box.

I'm confident that you mean (a). ;)

Thank you. I had hoped Rich would share your confidence.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1