![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'm going to guess what's next...
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
|
As long as the ball did not hit the ground before it got to the catcher, and as long as the catcher does not let the ball hit the ground after HE touches it, it's a strikeout (not a foul ball). Unfortunately for the plate umpire, since he called foul ball, he may have to eat the call and ultimately eject a disgruntled coach. Hopefully in the future he'll learn to let his brain process all the info of what happened and will get it right next time. Tough situation.
JJ |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In FED at least, a ball "in flight" that's mistakenly declared foul is still live (if it's caught). Is a foul tip a batted ball in flight? |
|
|||
|
I think you just found another "mistake" in the rules Bob. By definition, a foul tip is a batted ball that is legally caught, and a batted ball is in flight until it has touched the ground or some object other than a fielder (including his equipment). Why then, are runners not required to tag up on a foul tip?
|
|
|||
|
Well, once it's caught, yes.
But before that, under FED rules at least, it's a batted ball. And a ball that is declared "foul" (incorrectly by the umpire) must then hit the ground to become foul. If it doesn't hit the ground, then the play stands. So, I think, "ball is tipped by the batter, caught by the catcher, declared foul by the umpire" is still a foul tip -- that is, it's a strike and in play. This would be consistent with "ball hit in the air by the batter, declared foul by the umpire and caught by F3" -- the out stands and the ball is in play. |
|
|||
|
I must disagree with Bob here, dangerous ground I know.
Quote:
Please remember that once a ball is declared foul by an umpire, correctly or incorrectly, the ball is dead. By calling the ball foul, which we are assuming, the PU killed the play. The original post was "strike 3 held against the shin guard," It never said what happened after that. We really need more information to tell our poster what happens. A lot of the posting here I agree with, but once we have a PU calling the ball foul, the ball is dead. It does not matter if F2 pins it across his gear or not, or the Batter tipped the pitch of not. the PU calls the ball foul, it's foul. The play that is the closest analogy to the first post would be a bunt by the BR that is foul then goes fair. But if the PU sees the ball go foul and calls it foul before it is touched in foul ground, what do you have? You have a dead ball, the bunt is foul, even if the PU blew the call. You can't reburn the firewood. Last edited by jkumpire; Sat Mar 27, 2010 at 09:34pm. |
|
|||
|
Well, not any more. But it had to have been to properly be declared a foul tip.
I concur with bob. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Trapped Ball | charliej47 | Baseball | 17 | Thu May 17, 2007 06:08pm |
| Mechanic for trapped ball | LIIRISHMAN | Softball | 2 | Tue May 10, 2005 12:39pm |
| Trapped ball | blueump | Softball | 11 | Tue Apr 19, 2005 08:12am |