![]() |
|
|
|||
It all makes sense if: a) with respect to a dropped (moving) bat contacting the ball (2.5.1.E), the point of contact determines fair/foul status, and; b) with respect to the ball contacting a stationary bat, the point of contact is irrelevant - fair/foul is determined by other factors, i.e., the location of the ball when it comes to rest or is touched by a fielder.
The real daunting part is contained in 2.5.1.E: "The batter hits the ball, drops the bat and it unintentionally hits the ball a second time..." Just how are we supposed to determine the intent of a bat? |
|
|||
Dash wrote: "It all makes sense if: a) with respect to a dropped (moving) bat contacting the ball (2.5.1.E), the point of contact determines fair/foul status.."
So from 2.5.1 (E), am I hearing that if the (unintentionally) moving bat contacts the ball in fair territory, then rolls untouched into foul territory and touches a fielder or just plain comes to rest in foul territory, it's a fair ball? I always thought the "point of contact" in this situation determines first whether the ball is still live or dead, then comes fair/foul. For example, (1) moving bat contacts the ball in fair territory - the ball is still live (not necessarily fair, that's yet to be determined by a fielder or the foul line); moving bat contacts the ball in foul territory, the ball is dead right away (foul ball), regardless of who afterwards touches it or where it then rolls! |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with you in how it should be called, and think that the case which says otherwise is wrong (either a wrong ruling or it's missing some information). |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
It is clear that a bat lying stationary on the ground is considered part of the playing field - i.e., it is irrelevant to fair/foul status (unless the bat is somehow beyond 1st or 3rd base). It is also clear that a bat in the hands of the batter is not part of the playing field. So the question is: When the bat is dropped (leaves the batter's hands), when does it become part of the playing field? If the answer is "when it stops moving," then the explanation I presented in post #7 is correct. Unless I missed something. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA rule book and case book | SAK | Basketball | 11 | Mon Jul 13, 2009 08:36am |
Case book 5.3.3 | phansen | Football | 7 | Wed Dec 13, 2006 06:06pm |
Beyond the Case Book | tcannizzo | Softball | 4 | Mon May 08, 2006 03:11pm |
Case Book 10.3.6 | APHP | Basketball | 3 | Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:43pm |
Case Book | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 5 | Sat Feb 08, 2003 02:40pm |