The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 122
Case book 5.3.3

The way I understand this situation is that if the offense doesn't convert on a 4th down pass, the ball is placed "as it was" before the down for the new offense, thus giving the new offense the length of the football without earning it.
However, if the offense doesn't convert on a 4th down run, the position of the ball is moved back the distance of the football (11 1/2 inches)so the new offense must earn the distance of the football.
Why is this not the case with the incomplete 4th down pass? Or am I reading this situation wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
You're reading it incorrectly. In neither case do you move the ball following a loss of possession on downs. Don't get hung up on the forward tip of the ball being the spot. The position of the ball is what's important. We only use the tip of the ball for measurement purposes. It might be easier to think of the neutral zone. Both teams are restricted from entering this space and it doesn't move following a change of possession.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansen
However, if the offense doesn't convert on a 4th down run, the position of the ball is moved back the distance of the football (11 1/2 inches)so the new offense must earn the distance of the football.
I don't have my case book at work so I'm not sure if that's where you're getting this. It doesn't seem right. If you measure after a 4th down and they're short you wouldn't move the ball.

The only time I can think of where the ball is being moved is when they are coming out of their own end zone and barely avoid the safety with the ball laying "sideways". When you rotate the ball 90 degrees to set it you can't have the back end in the EZ so they gain a few inches.

Other than that I believe the ball is where the ball is and you set the chains to it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 126
In the case of an incomplete pass on fourth down the ball is moved back to the down indicator and the forward point of the ball placed at this marker. No yardage is gained. On a run your marking the spot at the end of the run and moving the chains for the new series. AM is right about assuring the back of the ball is off the endline so doesnt break the plane before the snap
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Newport, KY
Posts: 176
Just remember this, move the chains, not the ball. Place the ball where it belongs following whatever play is run, then reset the chains if a new series is not earned.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 11:27am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick KY
Just remember this, move the chains, not the ball. Place the ball where it belongs following whatever play is run, then reset the chains if a new series is not earned.
Adding to what Rick is saying, on an incomplete pass, the ball will be put back to the PS, and the chains moved the length of the ball cuz the LTG is 10 yards from the forward point of the ball.

On a 4th down running play that does not earn a new down, the chains will always move and have be at the forward point of the ball for the new series for B.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Example

A's ball, 4th and goal. A30 runs the ball and is stopped short at the 6-inch line. Team A lost the ball on downs. Team B will put the ball in play with the tail of the ball now 6 inches from the goal line. The back stake will mark the spot at approx. the 1/2 yard line (6 in + 11 1/2 inches = 17 1/2 in).

You can't reverse the ball in this situation because you'd be placing half of the ball in the end zone. This situation highlights the fact that you don't move the ball on any other situation following a loss of possession on downs.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 122
I believe I was reading way to far into this situation and just confusing myself. Rick, you said to place the ball where it was and just worry about moving the chains to the front point of the football. That would make the most sense to me. And I think I'll skip reading that situation from now on.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beyond the Case Book tcannizzo Softball 4 Mon May 08, 2006 03:11pm
Case Book 10.5.3 Sit. B ?? Buckeyes Football 2 Sun Aug 08, 2004 07:52pm
Case Book 10.3.6 APHP Basketball 3 Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:43pm
Case Book fletch_irwin_m Basketball 5 Sat Feb 08, 2003 02:40pm
Case book 4.19.8 B Danvrapp Basketball 6 Mon Jan 14, 2002 04:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1