![]() |
|
|
|||
Issue 1: is S20 a legal substitute? From the sitch, I'd say yes. If S20 had been an illegal substitute, 3-1-1 specifically says that the penalty for illegal substitution supersedes the penalty for BOO.
Issue 2: which player has S20 subbed for? I'm not going to allow the coach's misinformation to create a BOO situation. Instead, S20 will legally substitute for the current spot in the lineup, based on the provisions of 3-1-1. In effect, I'll treat a misreported sub as an unreported sub. I think this is justified because reporting isn't mandatory anyway. So I'm not going with BOO here, no matter what. And I can't see how the offense gained any advantage from their mistake. If I did, I might still allow the substitution but penalize the unsporting behavior of the coach (restrict or eject).
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
#20's at bat is complete, the offense cannot say anything anymore. If there is anything to say, it is the defense who has to speak up now.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
3-1-1: "ln any other case, a substitute may replace a player of his team when the ball is dead and time has been called." |
|
|||
First off - I am thinking the umpire will notice that the spot being subbed for was #10 & not #30, unless #'s are not listed. But that really doesn't matter - the sub is for the spot in the batting order, not laundry. He can say #20 is batting for Babe Ruth and my concern will be for which spot in the line up he is referring, and if the player entering is a legal sub. In the case of the OP, if the sub is designated for anything other than the next spot due up I will not allow the coaches request. Same goes if the sub he is trying to enter is not a legal sub.
If this OP happens as written I have nothing but a funny look on my face. I tell the coach no worries...the sub was for that particular spot in the line up. Who ever was there before has either 1 re-entry (if it was a starter and the 1st time subbed for) or no re-entry (2d time being subbed or a sub for a sub). |
|
|||
Quote:
If a coach comes to me and makes a lineup change, I'm verifying the player coming in is eligible to enter in that spot, then allowing it. Whether it's the next batter or not, I don't care. That's my idea, too. I've also heard (when on offense), "Blue, I'm subbing in these people to the first three spots coming up (info given). If any of them get on base, I'm putting in this person to the fourth spot." |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
First of all, NAMES are dispositive with respect to the batting order (and, by inference, substitutions). Substitutes don't "go into the 6-hole" or "go in to catch," they replace another player. In the OP, the coach said "Jones batting for Smith, " but Smith's spot was 2 spots removed from the position currently at bat. If you accept the (projected) substitution, and Jones now comes to bat, now you DO have a BOO mess. If you call it a projected substitution, it becomes an erasure because it was not allowed to be made - it never happened - and you just put the proper batter up. When Jones entered the batter's box, he became an unannounced (legal) sub for whomever was due up. Last edited by dash_riprock; Wed Feb 17, 2010 at 11:53am. Reason: Add last sentence. |
|
|||
Quote:
3-1-1:If you are going to post the rule on this board in argument to another poster, make sure you read the rule first!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by bbsbvb83; Wed Feb 17, 2010 at 12:59pm. |
|
|||
My argument is that substituting a player several spots down the lineup isn't a projected substitute. It's a straight substitute. The coach is replacing a player with another player. There are no "ifs, ands, or buts" in the substitution. The new player is legally in the game. If he's taken out, then he's done for the day.
projection: A forecast or prognosis obtained by extrapolation I'm certainly not talking about a situation where the coach says, "Blue, Jones is up 4th this inning. If he comes up to bat, then I'm going to have Smith bat for him." That's definitely a projected substitute. However, if he comes to me and says, "Blue, I've got Smith coming in for Jones," I'll pull out my lineup card and say, "OK, Coach, that's Smith in for Jones in the 6-spot. Is that correct?" He'll say it is, I'll announce it to the other dugout, and the change is legal. If Smith never comes to bat and Jones takes the field, then Smith is done for the day. If you can find me a good definition or case play of "projected substitute" in the Rules or Case Book that goes against the ability for a coach to directly substitute any player when the ball is dead, then I'll change my opinion on it. However, I've found nothing that defines my situation as a projected sub. |
|
|||
Quote:
Coach: "Blue, I'm sending # 1 in to pinch run for # 2 at second base. # 2 will re-enter." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Situation | WinterWillie | Softball | 11 | Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:27pm |
What do you do in this situation? | BlitzkriegBob | Softball | 1 | Mon May 28, 2007 12:03pm |
Situation: | w00j44 | Baseball | 21 | Fri May 11, 2007 09:41pm |
Situation - help please | DC_Ref12 | Basketball | 35 | Thu May 10, 2007 09:30am |
Bad situation. | tribefan1952 | Softball | 17 | Sun Apr 22, 2007 06:44pm |