![]() |
|
|
|||
Fed Sub Situation
This situation came up during our training class tonight. The group was mixed on how to handle it, so I'm bringing it here. The situation was in softball, but it can easily happen in baseball.
Bottom of the 7th, home team down by a few runs. Bases loaded, two outs. OC comes out and says, "I'm bringing in #20 Jones for #30 Smith." The umpire repeats it back, gets an affirmation, then repeats the sub to defense scorekeeper. #20 comes up to bat and hits a single, scoring two. Before the next hitter enters the box, OC comes out to the umpire: "Blue, I made a mistake. #20 Jones was supposed to be hitting for #10 Washington, whose spot was just up." The umpire looks at his lineup and sees, in order: 10 - Washington 12 - White 30 - Smith -- 20 Jones ... What do you do? Part of the room said that the coach OBVIOUSLY meant the sub was for the current batter. Personally, I don't care what the coach's intent was -- that's not my job. He made a legal substitution for a player; granted, the player wasn't batting, running, or in the field, but it's still a legal substitution. That player then batted out of order. Call the batter out, no runs scored, game over. |
|
|||
Issue 1: is S20 a legal substitute? From the sitch, I'd say yes. If S20 had been an illegal substitute, 3-1-1 specifically says that the penalty for illegal substitution supersedes the penalty for BOO.
Issue 2: which player has S20 subbed for? I'm not going to allow the coach's misinformation to create a BOO situation. Instead, S20 will legally substitute for the current spot in the lineup, based on the provisions of 3-1-1. In effect, I'll treat a misreported sub as an unreported sub. I think this is justified because reporting isn't mandatory anyway. So I'm not going with BOO here, no matter what. And I can't see how the offense gained any advantage from their mistake. If I did, I might still allow the substitution but penalize the unsporting behavior of the coach (restrict or eject).
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
#20's at bat is complete, the offense cannot say anything anymore. If there is anything to say, it is the defense who has to speak up now.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
3-1-1: "ln any other case, a substitute may replace a player of his team when the ball is dead and time has been called." |
|
|||
First off - I am thinking the umpire will notice that the spot being subbed for was #10 & not #30, unless #'s are not listed. But that really doesn't matter - the sub is for the spot in the batting order, not laundry. He can say #20 is batting for Babe Ruth and my concern will be for which spot in the line up he is referring, and if the player entering is a legal sub. In the case of the OP, if the sub is designated for anything other than the next spot due up I will not allow the coaches request. Same goes if the sub he is trying to enter is not a legal sub.
If this OP happens as written I have nothing but a funny look on my face. I tell the coach no worries...the sub was for that particular spot in the line up. Who ever was there before has either 1 re-entry (if it was a starter and the 1st time subbed for) or no re-entry (2d time being subbed or a sub for a sub). |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
First of all, NAMES are dispositive with respect to the batting order (and, by inference, substitutions). Substitutes don't "go into the 6-hole" or "go in to catch," they replace another player. In the OP, the coach said "Jones batting for Smith, " but Smith's spot was 2 spots removed from the position currently at bat. If you accept the (projected) substitution, and Jones now comes to bat, now you DO have a BOO mess. If you call it a projected substitution, it becomes an erasure because it was not allowed to be made - it never happened - and you just put the proper batter up. When Jones entered the batter's box, he became an unannounced (legal) sub for whomever was due up. Last edited by dash_riprock; Wed Feb 17, 2010 at 11:53am. Reason: Add last sentence. |
|
|||
Quote:
3-1-1:If you are going to post the rule on this board in argument to another poster, make sure you read the rule first!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
Coach: "Blue, I'm sending # 1 in to pinch run for # 2 at second base. # 2 will re-enter." |
|
|||
Sometimes,
I am amazed by how anal some people are:
Quote:
A projected substitute is ANY substitution that is attempting to made to anyone than a current hitter, runner or defensive substitution. Notice I said: ANY Coach passes you between innings and says: "Hey Tee, #17 is hitting for the second guy up this inning." Ump Tee: "Hey Jack, just tell me when it is happening we can't do projected changes." The OP simply means that the batter hit for the player he hit for . . . not someone else down the order. This thread is an example of what happens on these forums: A question is asked. It is answered CORRECTLY by a number of real experienced people. Then we have a guy that won't accept the correct answer. Again I just, sadly, shake my head BUT count the starts you don't work in my area of the country. T |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Situation | WinterWillie | Softball | 11 | Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:27pm |
What do you do in this situation? | BlitzkriegBob | Softball | 1 | Mon May 28, 2007 12:03pm |
Situation: | w00j44 | Baseball | 21 | Fri May 11, 2007 09:41pm |
Situation - help please | DC_Ref12 | Basketball | 35 | Thu May 10, 2007 09:30am |
Bad situation. | tribefan1952 | Softball | 17 | Sun Apr 22, 2007 06:44pm |