The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 06, 2002, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by Jerry
For the pitcher not to deliver a pitch to the plate, he must legally disengage the rubber. If he throws from the rubber, the throw is a pitch.

Steve,
Are those your words above, or J/R's? I'll go along with J/R's "Begins a motion to pitch" line that you cited, and call a balk if I judge that F1 has performed a "natural pitching motion (which) commits him to the pitch." I've got no reason to argue against the above interpretation either . . . if those are J's and R's exact words. Otherwise, I still have an attempted play on R3. Let me know what you've got.

Jerry
I indented J/R's words and not mine.
My words are my summary of J/R's verbage.

While on the rubber, any action of beginning a throw to the plate is a pitch, Jerry. The pitcher need not use the same motion everytime---he may vary his motions as long as all his motions are legal. Therefore, at some point, he uses a new motion for the first time. In this case, his throwing action from the rubber is, indeed, nothing more than another pitching motion---legal or illegal (balk). It's merely the first time he's used this pitching motion.

So, let's assume the runner was not advancing, and the pitcher made the same action:
  1. Would you consider it a pitch?
  2. Would you consider it a quick pitch if the batter was not ready?
  3. Or would you consider it a play (since R3 is standing on 3rd picking his nose)?

Jerry, my guess is that considering it a play would be your last choice.

As long as it is an effort to deliver the ball to the plate from the pitching plate, then you need to consider it a pitch. All in all it's rather simplistic---if a pitcher delivers to home plate from the pitching rubber, it is a pitch. F1 needs to know he must disengage the rubber in order to make a play to the plate.

(Hmmmm....that seems to closely correlate with the Fed caseplay)!!!!


Just my opinion,

Freix

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1