The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 06, 2002, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 286
Thumbs down

Hold on a second. In OBR, the pitcher can, from the Windup Position, "step and throw to a base in an attempt to pick off a runner." Whether the batter is in the box or not is irrelevant in a scenario where R3 is stealing home and F1 is attempting a pick off play at "Home Base". All that's required is for F1 to step directly to the base and throw. There's absolutely no requirement for F1 to step backward in this scenario. It's a pick-off attempt and nothing else. What's illegal or "balkable" (is that a word?) with that.

BTW . . . it makes no difference what pitching position F1 is in or whether he's on the rubber or not. As long as he makes a proper move/play to retire the advancing runner, he's done everything exactly proper.

Jerry
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1