The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Far south Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 43
Interference or good base-running??

Game situation....R1 on 2nd, ball hit to shortstop (F6)....R1 almost stops (dances) in front of F6 so F6 can't get a clear view of the ground ball (they never touch each other). R1 proceeds to third just before the ball almost hits him. F6 makes and error....Should have interference been called on R1 or is it good base-running? No call was made, DC was mad.

I was the OC and told my runner I thought he should have been called for interference......was I right?

Coach K

Last edited by kheisner; Mon Aug 03, 2009 at 12:54pm. Reason: to make situation clearer
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Yes, it sounds like he interfered with F6's chance to field the ball cleanly. So, from what it sounds like, I would have INT. The error is irrelevant. As long as F6 had a chance at the ball and was in/getting into position to field it, then I have INT.

If he does it with no one having a chance at the ball, then I would have no INT. But, that doesn't sound like the case here. It sounds like he was in position and R2 interfered with his opportunity. So, I have INT on this play.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by kheisner View Post
I was the OC and told my runner I thought he should have been called for interference......was I right?
Yes.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
I agree, contact between players or with the ball, is not a requirement for interference
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 11:46am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
If the runner stops intentionally to block F6's view, then it's interference. If he is just running to 3rd and stops to avoid the ball in the normal course of his running, or jumps over the ball in his normal course of running, then it's not interference. Sounds like INT from how you described his actions.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 440
If the runner 'hinders or impedes' the fielders ability to make a play it is interference. It sounds like your runner got away with one. I would not make a habit of trying this, but from you telling your runner what you did, I so not think that is an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chasing the dream
Posts: 433
From the JEA:

"Any action, however, that is taken by the runner which is palpably designed to interfere should be ruled interference. This includes timing his advancement to intentionally confuse or hinder the fielder."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 440
UMP153 Thanks for the correction on my wording. Rule book in car vs Computer room.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 11:56am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ump153 View Post
From the JEA:

"Any action, however, that is taken by the runner which is palpably designed to interfere should be ruled interference. This includes timing his advancement to intentionally confuse or hinder the fielder."
Yeah, that.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by kheisner View Post
Game situation....R2 on 2nd, ball hit to shortstop (F6)....R2 almost stops (dances) in front of F6 so F6 can't get a clear view of the ground ball (they never touch each other). R2 proceeds to third just before the ball almost hits him. F6 makes and error....Should have interference been called on R2 or is it good base-running? No call was made, DC was mad.

I was the OC and told my runner I thought he should have been called for interference......was I right?

Coach K
Yes! If I am the BU, I turn two on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
Yes! If I am the BU, I turn two on this one.
If you call 2 outs on this, head for the hills. I will be if I am your partner.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 12:14pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
Yes! If I am the BU, I turn two on this one.
How are you going to get two, Kimosabe? You make-um up rule?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Oh, runner on second only. I thought Runners on 1st and 2nd.

Bring out Emily Litella, again.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
Oh, runner on second only. I thought Runners on 1st and 2nd.

Bring out Emily Litella, again.
Doesn't matter. You can only get two outs under OBR if the runner willfully and deliberately interferes ... with the obvious attempt to break up a DP. That's a pretty high standard.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 03, 2009, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
I was thinking FED.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base Running Question Justme Baseball 29 Thu Apr 06, 2006 04:45pm
Base Running dustman Softball 2 Sat May 28, 2005 02:25pm
Running Base on Balls BoomerSooner Baseball 3 Tue May 17, 2005 12:53pm
base running bkolde Baseball 3 Fri Jun 04, 2004 03:51pm
smart base running or an out ? hey blue Softball 6 Sat Aug 24, 2002 03:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1