![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The risign fastball
Quote:
What is your dissatisfaction with one caseplay provided by CC6? Is it just me, or we are all using interference rules to prove one point or the other. Somehow my reading skill are not that good. For example, in my BRD 208 Equipment Loose on the Field and 300 "Inteference By: On-Deck Batter" If the ball should strike him when and where, alive and in play, play on! [BRD emphasis] (Booth and eTeamz 10/30/2001) I also concurred with this call in the OP near the ODC, attempting to avoid thrown ball near the ODC, blue. So now you throw one more rule under the bus. Not one person has explained why BRD ties to OP. Booth posted Interference July 2009, talked out of it. DG, Interference July 2009, talked out of it. mbyron posted interference or not and then applied unintentional interference ruling amounting to no interference. {Only person supporting interference by rule and no interference by opinion.} Fritz, SLAS all posted interference. In summation HTBT. Is there another Booth? If not I would ask him to offer his opinion of the play one more time. FACT. The people who posted supportive evidence for interference in the OP were talked out of it because the catcher didn't need the space on ERRANT throw {bounce or not}. Is that your reasoning here? SLAS and I were expecting to explain why this is a false assumption and have hit a backstop. FACT. Name persons in support of no interference, other than Bobbybananaduck and two in this thread who also posted an argument. Anyone who has difference of an opinion and states a rule to support it is told it does not apply to the OP. See definition and rules posted in pages 1-4 when the SAump post count was ZERO. No interference is an illogical, unreasonable position to support the OP unless none of the rules for interference apply {summation of 20+ posts} . You want to use 3.15 and a play at 1B when unintentional interference does not support play at HP. Well then, why not use 7.08b, 7.09d and 7.11? FACT. When I wanted to treat ODH as bat boy, which did apply at HP, in my first post in OP; Tee {deleted}, SDS {OF ball boy} and JD Mara {monkey} stated it was ridiculous. Tee, subconsciously, said to treat ODH as part of the field {Not Equipment}. It didn't make any sense at the time. Both bat boy or base coach allow for unintentional interference in 3.15. I have a clue what part of field means and how it applies to OP. Where is the base coach part of the field? Now you guys want to treat the ODH as an umpire {see 5.08}. When will he be treated as an ODH? SLAS to me! eTeamz? Oh pleaze. The Wendelstedt boys have to be laughing at authoritative opinion frome eTeamz.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Mon Jul 27, 2009 at 01:38pm. |
|
|||
|
Why don't you check with them, or Jim Evans, or anybody else? Are you afraid of what they might say? I would be if I were you!
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Isn't a coach falling down on purpose to trip a first baseman interference with a throw? My reasoning is that the ball was thrown, and the first baseman is chasing the wild throw. Different than fielding which would be a batted ball. Am I wrong?
|
|
|||
|
Yes, intentionally interfering is interference. Why are you making this more difficult than it really is? If the ball just happens to hit the base coach (or on deck hitter), it is not interference. Damn, this is really starting to get old.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Obviously the situation you described is not interference. I don't think that is what SAump was saying. He was talking about intentional interference. Hard to know what anybody's argument is though with an entire thread deleted, and this one filled with monstrously long posts.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Not correct
Quote:
If he wants to put words in my mouth, the base coach or ODH is just happening to be 20 feet from home plate. SDS states 5.08 protect the umpire, the base coach and the ODH. Have you seen many umpires hit by an errant relay throw 10-20 feet from the plate. What is the base coach or ODH doing that close to HP {trying to umpire}? This is interference with the defense. The ODH was excited because a hit was about to score two runs. In his excitement, he forgot to pay attention to the incoming throw and was "accidentally" hit while supporting his teammate who may have scored on the play. SDS want to enforce unintentional interference 5.08 which amounts to no interference, play off the deflection of BC or ODH. Wrong or right? He has a gathering of supporters. ODH just happened to be there accidentally?
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Jul 26, 2009 at 10:43pm. |
|
|||
|
Have you ever umpired a single game? The on-deck hitter has a job to do with runners trying to score, and that is telling them what to do. To do so, he'll often be 10-20 feet from the plate. That is his job.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Experience
Quote:
Come Jurassic Park, fess up, as old as you are, ever happen once? I can see the empathy for the ODH oozing from your eyes. Are those teardrops? Someone has to protect him, it might as well be you. Do you expect a college athlete to be so dumb as to interfere with a throw to HP that a rule is needed to protect him from unintentionally interfering with a throw. Does this actually seem reasonable, i.e. base on reality of 5.08 or previous experience of all our readers? I would eject him and enjoy it at the same moment. How many times have I said that. Coach, you better warm up another batter. This one here is going to go sit on the other side of the fence for his safety.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Mon Jul 27, 2009 at 07:36am. |
|
|||
|
Check Mate (Aussie for Friend)
Quote:
Roder's suggestion, treated as offensive teammate. Quote:
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Tue Jul 28, 2009 at 10:38am. |
|
|||
|
I wonder, will this answer end the debate. It is the same ruling as others have given. No INT on the ODH by rule 7.11.
Quote:
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
|
Wow, The Deep End of the Stick
Quote:
BTW, R1 rounds 3B when RF has ball. WTF, in our play contact with ball at HP occurred when R3 touched 3B, clearly not past 45 ft mark, clearly hasn't scored at TOI. Ball went out of play as a result of contact. Award 2 bases, R1 home and B/R 3B! I'll go my way. Interference, dead ball at TOI and place R1 at 3B and B/R at 2B because I could not determine safe/out on play at the plate. See Roder, Pg 115-116. "Interference by an Offensive Teammate" Read VI, VI(b), VI(1), VI(2), Penalty (a), Note ruling for interference without a play, and Ex 1.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Tue Jul 28, 2009 at 11:32am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Definite troll. Hopefully others will actually read the answer and learn the right way to call the play. Good luck with your Calvinball.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
|
"First of all I have to ask, do you continue to stay in the courtroom and try and covince the jury your are right after they have ruled against you?"
Somehow, I just can't believe that you STILL don't agree.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Suggested CP for a Young Lady Umpire | cruzercapt | Baseball | 19 | Fri Sep 12, 2008 07:50pm |
| Suggested CP for a Young Lady Umpire | cruzercapt | Softball | 7 | Thu Sep 11, 2008 08:57pm |
| Great Reading Material! | ranjo | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 15, 2006 07:59pm |
| Suggested FED rule changes | ChuckElias | Basketball | 21 | Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:45pm |
| Suggested reading | buckrog64 | Basketball | 9 | Thu May 26, 2005 02:40pm |