![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Kudos, aplause, aggreement? Check please.
Quote:
I stated in the earlier thread that I deleted a post explaining why only runners are protected by rule from intentional interference with a thrown ball. It applies 100% of the time and Reggie Jackson's standing in the way of a throw that would have surely caught him off-base deserves all the credit for the adoption. Of course that applied to a runner standing still in the basepath, which is why it is so unique. Credit to CC6 for correctly pointing to a caseplay supporting coach's interference with a thrown ball. Don't exclude 7.08b from the list of authoritative opinion on intereference with a thrown ball in the OP. It only protects a baserunner, so spectators on the same team have to move away. Anyone else willing to reconsider 7.09d and 7.11 as relevant to the OP, here?
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sat Jul 25, 2009 at 10:31pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Wrong
Quote:
Your facts are incorrect, reference 3.15 or see deleted thread. Ball, low and away.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Jul 26, 2009 at 01:30pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
PLAY: Batter hits ball to shortstop, who fields ball but throws wild past first baseman. The offensive coach at first base, to avoid being hit by the ball, falls to the ground and the first baseman on his way to retrieve the wild thrown ball, runs into the coach; the batter-runner finally ends up on third base. The question is asked whether the umpire should call interference on the part of the coach. This would be up to the judgment of the umpire and if the umpire felt that the coach did all he could to avoid interfering with the play, no interference need be called. If it appeared to the umpire that the coach was obviously just making it appear he was trying not to interfere, the umpire should rule interference" Now your going to sit there and tell me that the interference that is refered to here is specifically with a thrown ball? Yes 5.08 is supported by 3.15, but not soley on this play. Oh, and by the way, I cited BRD 308 "Inteference By: On-Deck Batter" an OBR3.15 , in the early pages of the previous thread. Strike three, your out, go sit down. |
|
|||
|
The risign fastball
Quote:
What is your dissatisfaction with one caseplay provided by CC6? Is it just me, or we are all using interference rules to prove one point or the other. Somehow my reading skill are not that good. For example, in my BRD 208 Equipment Loose on the Field and 300 "Inteference By: On-Deck Batter" If the ball should strike him when and where, alive and in play, play on! [BRD emphasis] (Booth and eTeamz 10/30/2001) I also concurred with this call in the OP near the ODC, attempting to avoid thrown ball near the ODC, blue. So now you throw one more rule under the bus. Not one person has explained why BRD ties to OP. Booth posted Interference July 2009, talked out of it. DG, Interference July 2009, talked out of it. mbyron posted interference or not and then applied unintentional interference ruling amounting to no interference. {Only person supporting interference by rule and no interference by opinion.} Fritz, SLAS all posted interference. In summation HTBT. Is there another Booth? If not I would ask him to offer his opinion of the play one more time. FACT. The people who posted supportive evidence for interference in the OP were talked out of it because the catcher didn't need the space on ERRANT throw {bounce or not}. Is that your reasoning here? SLAS and I were expecting to explain why this is a false assumption and have hit a backstop. FACT. Name persons in support of no interference, other than Bobbybananaduck and two in this thread who also posted an argument. Anyone who has difference of an opinion and states a rule to support it is told it does not apply to the OP. See definition and rules posted in pages 1-4 when the SAump post count was ZERO. No interference is an illogical, unreasonable position to support the OP unless none of the rules for interference apply {summation of 20+ posts} . You want to use 3.15 and a play at 1B when unintentional interference does not support play at HP. Well then, why not use 7.08b, 7.09d and 7.11? FACT. When I wanted to treat ODH as bat boy, which did apply at HP, in my first post in OP; Tee {deleted}, SDS {OF ball boy} and JD Mara {monkey} stated it was ridiculous. Tee, subconsciously, said to treat ODH as part of the field {Not Equipment}. It didn't make any sense at the time. Both bat boy or base coach allow for unintentional interference in 3.15. I have a clue what part of field means and how it applies to OP. Where is the base coach part of the field? Now you guys want to treat the ODH as an umpire {see 5.08}. When will he be treated as an ODH? SLAS to me! eTeamz? Oh pleaze. The Wendelstedt boys have to be laughing at authoritative opinion frome eTeamz.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Mon Jul 27, 2009 at 01:38pm. |
|
|||
|
How much gray area does an ODH get?
Bobbybananaduck provided solid rationale to eliminate 7.09d from the discussion. What else has your side introduced, but a load of black coal? mbyron, Pete Booth, DG, Fritz, and Rich Ives warned you to reconsider the OP and their message fizzled into HTBT by page 4.
![]() SLAS held his ground and reinforced his position with the rulebook after a few days of deliberation. Not only did his position SLAS, it was ruled a strike. ![]() Mr Dave Davies provides some support earlier in this thread. Roder (1) blatantly and avoidably hinders [ a fielder's try to field a fair or catchable batted ball or ] thrown ball. A coach must try to avoid a fielder trying to field. If he tries to avoid, but contacts a fielder, it is not interference. In most cases, a coach who does not try to avoid contact with a fielder will have interfered. [5.08] [7.11] Tell me this only applies to a fielder, not a throw.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Jul 26, 2009 at 09:23pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Have (contiued) fun with that. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
|
Can you count to 20?
Quote:
Awesome, all I read is SLAS and I are wrong, others are right 20+ times. I didn't see you post in the OP or your explanation. Do you mind running through the OP and posting it below? I did not intend to revisit the definition, 3.15, 7.08b, 7.09d, and 7.11; but you can. Mr Davies provided a new case play, 5.08. I'm sure you can contribute here. ODH's participation is found in C&T of the game. ODH is base coach, treat as coaching 1B or 3B. ODH holding a bat treated as loose equipment, part of the field. ODH interference was unintentional, treat as NO Interference. ODH is not responsible for interference on errant throw. ODH did not strike the ball. The ball struck him. ODH is allowed to stand 10 to 15 feet from HP, treat ODH as if he is preparing to enter game. ODH is allowed to strike the ball accidentally, strike must NOT be blatant. Educate,, argue, invent, deny and fantasize your way through one post. I'm sure it will be a great explanation.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Jul 26, 2009 at 06:40pm. |
|
|||
|
"]Just thought I'd throw some stuff in here from Evans Annotated and Roder. Interesting stuff.
Dave **** je5.08 5.08 If a thrown ball accidently touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out. Cross Ref: 3.15, 5.09(g, Notes), 6.05(b) Notes, 7.05(i), 7.11 History: At the turn of the century (1900), when an umpire was struck by the catcher’s throw to retire a runner, the ball was ruled dead and the runner had to return. Later, as the two umpire system developed, the ball was ruled dead only when the plate umpire interfered with the catcher’s throw. (Current interpretation) In 1973, the last sentence of this rule was added to cover cases in which a coach interfered (intentionally) with a thrown ball. That same year, provisions were made for cases in which a pitched ball lodged in catcher’s or umpire’s equipment...5.09(g) and when a pitched ball touched a runner trying to score...5.09(h). Pro Interp: Any thrown ball that strikes an umpire shall be considered alive and in play. A pitched ball which is kicked or deflected by the plate umpire is in play. A batted ball which strikes an umpire is governed by Rules 5.09(f), 6.08(d), 6.09(c), and 7.04(b). Coaches have an inherent obligation to avoid fielders in the act of fielding a batted or thrown ball (Rule 7.11). Likewise, they should avoid overthrows to the best of their ability. if an overthrow should touch a coach, the umpire should determine if the coach used his best efforts to avoid the overthrow and/or fielder or whether his actions were palpably designed to interfere. Though Rule 5.08 states a penalty in rather vague terms...”the runner is out”... it becomes the umpire’s responsibility to determine which runner in the case of multiple runners. In the case of interference interpreted as intentional by the umpire, he shall rule the ball dead and call “out” the runner who would have most benefitted by the coach’s actions. (See situations below.) SIT: No outs...no one on base. The batter swings and misses “strike three.” This pitch is missed by the catcher as the batter starts for first. Luckily for the catcher...the ball strikes the umpire...and is easily retrieved. He fires to first to retire the batter-runner. RUL: The umpire is in play when struck by a pitched ball. This was a tough break for the batter-runner, but he is out. SIT: The runner from first is stealing on the pitch. The catcher’s throw to nab the runner strikes the umpire in the back of his head. The runner steals the base easily. Should you return the runner to first because of the umpire’s interference? RUL: The ball is alive and in play. The runner remains at second. SIT: Runners on first and third...one out. The batter chops a high hopper toward shortstop...the shortstop charges in and fields the batted ball. He fires to second to start the double play...but...the throw hits the umpire. All runners are safe as one run scores. What’s the call? RUL: A thrown ball that hits an umpire is alive and in play. The run counts and runners remain at first and second. SIT: Runner on 2nd. Ground ball to the shortstop. His throw to 1st skips by the first baseman and, in umpire’s judgment, accidentally strikes the base coach and deflects down the right field line. The runner from 2nd has rounded 3rd and scores easily. RUL: This ball is alive and in play and all ensuing action counts. Conceivably, the batter-runner may have thought that the ball went farther beyond the first baseman than it actually did and could be thrown out trying to advance. SIT: Runner on 2nd. The batter’s ground ball is fielded to 1st but gets by the first baseman. The coach falls to the ground and covers the ball as the runner from 2nd scores and the BR advances to 2nd. RUL: This is most likely intentional interference by the coach. The ball should be ruled dead, the lead runner declared out, and the BR returned to 1st. Roder (1) blatantly and avoidably hinders a fielder's try to field a fair or catchable batted ball or thrown ball. A coach must try to avoid a fielder trying to field. If he tries to avoid, but contacts a fielder, it is not interference. In most cases, a coach who does not try to avoid contact with a fielder will have interfered. [5.08] [7.11][/FONT][/FONT] |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Suggested CP for a Young Lady Umpire | cruzercapt | Baseball | 19 | Fri Sep 12, 2008 07:50pm |
| Suggested CP for a Young Lady Umpire | cruzercapt | Softball | 7 | Thu Sep 11, 2008 08:57pm |
| Great Reading Material! | ranjo | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 15, 2006 07:59pm |
| Suggested FED rule changes | ChuckElias | Basketball | 21 | Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:45pm |
| Suggested reading | buckrog64 | Basketball | 9 | Thu May 26, 2005 02:40pm |