![]() |
|
|
|||
Plate Blocking Question
I've searched but couldn't find an answer to this question.
Is there a distinction in the rules (at any level) that allows for a baserunner to crash into the catcher in an attempt to dislodge the ball, but not crash into a fielder at another base? I'm a USSSA softball umpire, and the applicable rule there is similar--I think--to the rule that seems to govern baseball runners going to 1st, 2nd, or 3rd, namely (and I'm paraphrasing): If a fielder is in possession of the ball and is waiting to make a tag, the runner must slide or attempt to go immediately around the fielder. That is, they can't barrel into a defensive player who is in possession of the ball. Situations: Runner on 1st. Base hit to RF. Runner rounds 2nd and heads for third. F9 throws a laser. F5 fields the ball in front of the bag (in the basepath) with the runner still 15 feet away. Runner maintains "ramming speed" (Animal House) and barrels into F5. Ball comes loose and runner touches 3rd. I assume he's ruled out for interference, correct? Same situation but at the plate. In MLB, at least, the runner is safe at home, right? (Assume each fielder only enters the basepath after he's in possession of the ball, so there's nothing close to obstruction.) Is there something in the MLB rules that addresses this difference? Or is it an "unwritten rule" that the runner's allowed to do this when home plate is the destination? Also, what, if any, are the differences in NCAA or Federation highschool? Thanks in advance for any responses! |
|
|||
Quote:
THere's no difference in FED, NCAA or OBR between plays at the plate and plays at other bases. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
![]()
Steve,
Actually in most leagues I have seen with "...slide or avoid modified OBR rules...", the runner is OUT and is ejected if the contact is deemed malicious. Like USSSA (baseball), for example: Quote:
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
At one time PONY took the result of the play and an ejection. According to the umpire coordinator at the time, this was specifically aimed at contact after the runner reached the plate/base.
|
|
|||
This has been my experience as well.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
blocking the plate question | sumfan | Softball | 39 | Tue Jun 09, 2009 07:25am |
F2 drops ball on tag while blocking plate | DTQ_Blue | Softball | 97 | Tue Jul 15, 2008 09:59am |
Blocking the plate | Forest Ump | Baseball | 11 | Wed May 28, 2008 02:34pm |
If the catcher is blocking the plate | BBLover | Baseball | 11 | Wed Jun 23, 2004 07:46pm |