The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jun 04, 2009, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member

blocking the plate question

great forum
i am a asa coach and before that a youth league coach.
i have a question for you.
what is the proper way according to the asa rules ( i have been reading the rule book but have not found it)
for a player to positon herself to recieve the throw at a base
we have told our girls to staddle the base and leave the center open
at some asa tournys this was fine but at some it was not
the girls were told they had to be behind the plate or to the side.
i am just looking for the best way to instruct our girls

as i stated before a great forum i have been reading the posts and have learned alot of useful information

thank you for your time
sumfan
Old Thu Jun 04, 2009, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumfan View Post
great forum

what is the proper way according to the asa rules ( i have been reading the rule book but have not found it)
Your defender cannot cause the runner to slow or alter her path (unless she already has the ball). Suggest you coach them to set up on the incoming throw side of the runner's path ... make the catch ... and move to tag.
Old Thu Jun 04, 2009, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member

As an Umpire...

Quote:
great forum

as i stated before a great forum i have been reading the posts and have learned alot of useful information

thank you for your time
sumfan