The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 14
Obstruction, missed base

NFHS; batter hits gap shot to right-center, and gets tangled up with the shortstop who is inadvertently blocking second base, physically preventing the batter-runner from touching the bag. The base umpire immediately signals obstruction. The batter-runner is thrown out at third, but time is called and the base umpire awards him third for the obstruction. Since third base has already been touched, and the ball is dead, the runner cannot return to touch second. The defense may appeal the missed base, correct?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed first base blueump Baseball 79 Thu May 17, 2007 12:54pm
Missed Base jimpiano Softball 17 Wed Mar 28, 2007 01:23pm
Think I missed One - Obstruction at 1B fastpitch Softball 27 Fri Nov 03, 2006 08:24pm
Missed Base brandda Baseball 3 Tue May 21, 2002 09:43pm
Missed Base jclangley Baseball 10 Wed Apr 18, 2001 08:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1