The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 28, 2009, 06:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Can a fielder reacquire protection if he is in the act of fielding his own previously deflected ball? The play I'm thinking of is the NCAA play from last year where the pitcher deflected it off his foot, chased it and was in the act of fielding it when the BR ran into him near the first baseline.

After much kerfluffle, the NCAA ruling is that if a *DIFFERENT* fielder is chasing after the ball and is in the act of fielding it, then that second fielder is protected. The first fielder cannot re-gain protection.

When Drake's board was active, many (most? all?) of the active MiLB umpires said that they would allow the original fielder to "regain" protection. I'm not sure I buy that.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1