The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 87
When is initial attempt over if the ball is still in front of F5

and if in the OP F5 had knocked it down, tried to pick it up, dropped it and then there was contact...still OBS because the initial attempt was over when he dropped the ball?
__________________
RogersUmp
"Always give your best...someone is surely seeing you for the first time"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogersUmp View Post
and if in the OP F5 had knocked it down, tried to pick it up, dropped it and then there was contact...still OBS because the initial attempt was over when he dropped the ball?
No, if the ball is within "a step and a reach," he's still in the act of fielding and still protected. Contact would then be interference.

The crucial difference is that in the OP the ball got past the fielder.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Sounds great. Thanks for the clarifications. Just another reason to pick up a J/R

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 12:41pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
No, if the ball is within "a step and a reach," he's still in the act of fielding and still protected. Contact would then be interference.

The crucial difference is that in the OP the ball got past the fielder.
Can a fielder reacquire protection if he is in the act of fielding his own previously deflected ball? The play I'm thinking of is the NCAA play from last year where the pitcher deflected it off his foot, chased it and was in the act of fielding it when the BR ran into him near the first baseline.

From reading J/R and the MLBUM, my impression that in OBR at least, the answer is no. Once the fielder deflects the ball beyond a step and a reach, he cannot reacquire protection but another fielder can be protected. Am I correct in that understanding?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 12:54pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
The fielder already had one chance to field the ball and be protected. He booted the ball further than a step away, now he has to avoid the runner, batter/runner.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 12:57pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I think I agree as I found the following from J/R after a little more digging.

"A fielder cannot be privileged if he is chasing a batted ball that has been deflected or missed. If, however, he is trying to field a ball that has been deflected by another fielder, he can be privileged."
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I think I agree as I found the following from J/R after a little more digging.

"A fielder cannot be privileged if he is chasing a batted ball that has been deflected or missed. If, however, he is trying to field a ball that has been deflected by another fielder, he can be privileged."
Yep. That's it.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I think I agree as I found the following from J/R after a little more digging.

"A fielder cannot be privileged if he is chasing a batted ball that has been deflected or missed. If, however, he is trying to field a ball that has been deflected by another fielder, he can be privileged."
If it deflects off a base or rubber, the fielder is privileged as well?

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 28, 2009, 06:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Can a fielder reacquire protection if he is in the act of fielding his own previously deflected ball? The play I'm thinking of is the NCAA play from last year where the pitcher deflected it off his foot, chased it and was in the act of fielding it when the BR ran into him near the first baseline.

After much kerfluffle, the NCAA ruling is that if a *DIFFERENT* fielder is chasing after the ball and is in the act of fielding it, then that second fielder is protected. The first fielder cannot re-gain protection.

When Drake's board was active, many (most? all?) of the active MiLB umpires said that they would allow the original fielder to "regain" protection. I'm not sure I buy that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1