The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Obstruction ignored? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53283-obstruction-ignored.html)

jdmara Wed May 20, 2009 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin (Post 603555)
Award is minimum of one base. Technically (maybe if the contact with F3 is really big and knocks the runner down to the point where it can't be ignored) you could force the runner from second to third in order to award the base to the B/R. I would be hesitant to do so but maybe in that situation I might.

Here is a good example (at least in my mind)(I am going to steal Bob's situation) where you would HAVE to force R2 to third:

R1. Batter hits a "sure double." He doesn't see R1 returning to second in the belief that R2 missed the base. B/R turns around to return to first and runs into F3 who was trailing B/R on a designed defensive play. The ball is thrown to F3 who tags out the fallen B/R. We have obstruction. Put B/R on second and advance R1 to third.

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 603564)
FED OBS, while similar to OBR Type B, has a one base award beyond what they've already achieved attached to it. Am I interpreting that correctly?

Yes (in FED! I cannot speak for OBS)!

-Josh

johnnyg08 Wed May 20, 2009 03:00pm

Type B in OBR doesn't necessarily guarantee another base. That's the huge difference in FED...if you have OBS in FED, we have to use a bit more discretion in calling OBS because it's a mandatory award of another base even if the runner had no chance, desire to advance another base. Example R2 slightly rounds 2B and simply looks at F7 to see if he's got the ball. F6 impedes him...technically OBS...but is it right to give him 3B? I don't think so.

bossman72 Wed May 20, 2009 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul L (Post 603173)
I don't understand. Example, please?

Bases loaded. F1 tries to pick off R2 at 2nd. Both F6 and F4 go to cover second base. While R2 is going back to 2nd, he is obstructed by F6. F4 applies the tag.

Obstruction on F6. R2 awarded third. R3 forced home.

mbyron Wed May 20, 2009 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72 (Post 603595)
Bases loaded. F1 tries to pick off R2 at 2nd. Both F6 and F4 go to cover second base. While R2 is going back to 2nd, he is obstructed by F6. F4 applies the tag.

Obstruction on F6. R2 awarded third. R3 forced home.

Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

johnnyg08 Wed May 20, 2009 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

based upon this post you have Type B correct? Type A OBR OBS would give R2 a base award correct?

Welpe Wed May 20, 2009 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

Reading bossman's play description, I think this would be Type A obstruction in OBR. Do you disagree?

UmpJM Wed May 20, 2009 05:50pm

Welpe,

Per bossman's description, this is definitely "Type A" Obstruction under OBR rules; it's an immediate dead ball and the R2 would be awarded 3B and the R3 would be awarded home because he was "forced" by R2's award.

JM

MrUmpire Wed May 20, 2009 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

WHAT? Have you suddenly become a coach, or a mom?

A play is being made on the obstructed runner. Type A, eh?

mbyron Thu May 21, 2009 07:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

Dude, this is Type A. R2 gets 3B here. Pay attention. :rolleyes:

ozzy6900 Thu May 21, 2009 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 603564)
FED OBS, while similar to OBR Type B, has a one base award beyond what they've already achieved attached to it. Am I interpreting that correctly?

FED obstruction is Type B in OBR. The difference in FED is that when you call obstruction in FED, you will award at least 1 base in the forward direction (the part I hate). Example: R1 dives back to 1st on a pickoff and is obstructed by F3. In FED, R1 must go to 2nd base - there is no choice or question (now you know why I said I hate this).

johnnyg08 Thu May 21, 2009 10:57am

it's not exactly type B OBR as you're stating. you nicely described the difference. I think we agree.

johnnyg08 Thu May 21, 2009 10:58am

However, wouldn't the scenario you're describing above be Type A, since a play is being made on R1 diving back to the base?

SanDiegoSteve Thu May 21, 2009 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603747)
Dude, this is Type A. R2 gets 3B here. Pay attention. :rolleyes:

Now that's being your own worst critic!:) I like it, and I like it a lot.:p

UmpJM Thu May 21, 2009 02:46pm

Steve,

I thought he was bein' a little hard on the guy. ;)

JM

ozzy6900 Fri May 22, 2009 06:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 603807)
However, wouldn't the scenario you're describing above be Type A, since a play is being made on R1 diving back to the base?

In OBR, yes. But in FED, there is no Type A. All obstruction in FED is delayed as in OBR Type B.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1