The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Obstruction ignored? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53283-obstruction-ignored.html)

mj Mon May 18, 2009 09:12pm

Obstruction ignored?
 
Runner on first. Batter hits one in the gap. First baseman and batter/runner make contact as he rounds first on the way to second. Batter/runner ends up on second and R1 stops at third.

Is the obstruction by the first baseman ignored because the batter/runner achieved the base he was attempting to acquire?

Thanks

SethPDX Mon May 18, 2009 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mj (Post 603017)
Runner on first. Batter hits one in the gap. First baseman and batter/runner make contact as he rounds first on the way to second. Batter/runner ends up on second and R1 stops at third.

Is the obstruction by the first baseman ignored because the batter/runner achieved the base he was attempting to acquire?

Thanks

In this type of obstruction, where it sounds like he was obstructed after touching 1B and no play was being made on him, at the end of the playing action the umpire makes any base awards necessary to nullify the obstruction. The award, if any, is not so much the base the runner was trying for, it's the base the umpire judges he would have reached if there was no obstruction. If, in this play, the umpire judged the batter would have made 2B without the obstruction, the obstruction is ignored.

I'm referring here to OBR-based rules. I think the Fed (high school) rule is slightly different.

Okay, I took my shot; everyone else can start picking this apart. :p

SanDiegoSteve Mon May 18, 2009 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX (Post 603027)
In this type of obstruction, where it sounds like he was obstructed after touching 1B and no play was being made on him, at the end of the playing action the umpire makes any base awards necessary to nullify the obstruction. The award, if any, is not so much the base the runner was trying for, it's the base the umpire judges he would have reached if there was no obstruction. If, in this play, the umpire judged the batter would have made 2B without the obstruction, the obstruction is ignored.

I'm referring here to OBR-based rules. I think the Fed (high school) rule is slightly different.

Okay, I took my shot; everyone else can start picking this apart. :p

Pretty much what I would have said. If the umpire has any inkling that the BR could have possibly made it to 3rd, then he should award R1 home and the BR 3rd. It's a judgment call, and you want to err on the side of the offended team.

umpjong Mon May 18, 2009 11:41pm

Technically you are still acknowledging the obstruction, but you in this case acknowledge that the runner achieved the base you felt he was entitled to...:D

mbyron Tue May 19, 2009 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX (Post 603027)

I'm referring here to OBR-based rules. I think the Fed (high school) rule is slightly different.

In FED, all obstruction is "Type-B," or delayed dead ball (as OBR would also have in this case). Also, all OBS awards the obstructed runner at least his advance base, or more if needed to nullify the obstruction.

In this case, if you judged that the runner would have acquired 2B (which was also his advance base), no additional award would be appropriate under FED rules.

ozzy6900 Tue May 19, 2009 07:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mj (Post 603017)
Runner on first. Batter hits one in the gap. First baseman and batter/runner make contact as he rounds first on the way to second. Batter/runner ends up on second and R1 stops at third.

Is the obstruction by the first baseman ignored because the batter/runner achieved the base he was attempting to acquire?

Thanks

There should have been an obstruction call when the BR made contact with F3 ("That's Obstruction!"). That being said, R1 stopped at 3rd so the BR could go no further than 2nd. The obstruction is then ignored. If, however, the BR stopped and returned to 1st, the award would be 2nd base only (R1 at 3rd, remember?).

If there is obstruction on a following runner, the position of the lead runner may end up determining where the obstructed runner will be placed.

bob jenkins Tue May 19, 2009 08:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 603087)
There should have been an obstruction call when the BR made contact with F3 ("That's Obstruction!"). That being said, R1 stopped at 3rd so the BR could go no further than 2nd. The obstruction is then ignored. If, however, the BR stopped and returned to 1st, the award would be 2nd base only (R1 at 3rd, remember?).

If there is obstruction on a following runner, the position of the lead runner may end up determining where the obstructed runner will be placed.

True, but the obstructed runner can also "force" an advance runner to the next base.

Paul L Tue May 19, 2009 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 603105)
True, but the obstructed runner can also "force" an advance runner to the next base.

I don't understand. Example, please?

Ump Rube Tue May 19, 2009 12:22pm

I think what Bob is saying is that if you feel a B/R need be awarded 2B on the play and R2 is there already, you can award him 3B to "open" up that base to award the B/R 2B.

SanDiegoSteve Tue May 19, 2009 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump Rube (Post 603178)
I think what Bob is saying is that if you feel a B/R need be awarded 2B on the play and R2 is there already, you can award him 3B to "open" up that base to award the B/R 2B.

That's two chicken dinners!!! Now knock that off!!!:p

Ump Rube Tue May 19, 2009 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 603179)
That's two chicken dinners!!! Now knock that off!!!:p

I would be careful if I was you. If you have read one of my other threads http://forum.officiating.com/basebal...ther-kind.html you could tell that I tend to like chicken dinners. (any type of dinner works well with me though really) :D

Paul L Wed May 20, 2009 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump Rube (Post 603178)
I think what Bob is saying is that if you feel a B/R need be awarded 2B on the play and R2 is there already, you can award him 3B to "open" up that base to award the B/R 2B.

That's where I'm confused. How can I think an obstructed BR would have attained second base when a preceding unobstructed runner is camped out there?

bob jenkins Wed May 20, 2009 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul L (Post 603541)
That's where I'm confused. How can I think an obstructed BR would have attained second base when a preceding unobstructed runner is camped out there?


R1. Batter hits a "sure double." He doesn't see R1 returning to second in the belief that R2 missed the base. F3 obstructs BR as BR rounds first.

Put BR on second and advance R1 to third.

FTVMartin Wed May 20, 2009 02:09pm

Award is minimum of one base. Technically (maybe if the contact with F3 is really big and knocks the runner down to the point where it can't be ignored) you could force the runner from second to third in order to award the base to the B/R. I would be hesitant to do so but maybe in that situation I might.

johnnyg08 Wed May 20, 2009 02:32pm

FED OBS, while similar to OBR Type B, has a one base award beyond what they've already achieved attached to it. Am I interpreting that correctly?

jdmara Wed May 20, 2009 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin (Post 603555)
Award is minimum of one base. Technically (maybe if the contact with F3 is really big and knocks the runner down to the point where it can't be ignored) you could force the runner from second to third in order to award the base to the B/R. I would be hesitant to do so but maybe in that situation I might.

Here is a good example (at least in my mind)(I am going to steal Bob's situation) where you would HAVE to force R2 to third:

R1. Batter hits a "sure double." He doesn't see R1 returning to second in the belief that R2 missed the base. B/R turns around to return to first and runs into F3 who was trailing B/R on a designed defensive play. The ball is thrown to F3 who tags out the fallen B/R. We have obstruction. Put B/R on second and advance R1 to third.

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 603564)
FED OBS, while similar to OBR Type B, has a one base award beyond what they've already achieved attached to it. Am I interpreting that correctly?

Yes (in FED! I cannot speak for OBS)!

-Josh

johnnyg08 Wed May 20, 2009 03:00pm

Type B in OBR doesn't necessarily guarantee another base. That's the huge difference in FED...if you have OBS in FED, we have to use a bit more discretion in calling OBS because it's a mandatory award of another base even if the runner had no chance, desire to advance another base. Example R2 slightly rounds 2B and simply looks at F7 to see if he's got the ball. F6 impedes him...technically OBS...but is it right to give him 3B? I don't think so.

bossman72 Wed May 20, 2009 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul L (Post 603173)
I don't understand. Example, please?

Bases loaded. F1 tries to pick off R2 at 2nd. Both F6 and F4 go to cover second base. While R2 is going back to 2nd, he is obstructed by F6. F4 applies the tag.

Obstruction on F6. R2 awarded third. R3 forced home.

mbyron Wed May 20, 2009 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72 (Post 603595)
Bases loaded. F1 tries to pick off R2 at 2nd. Both F6 and F4 go to cover second base. While R2 is going back to 2nd, he is obstructed by F6. F4 applies the tag.

Obstruction on F6. R2 awarded third. R3 forced home.

Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

johnnyg08 Wed May 20, 2009 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

based upon this post you have Type B correct? Type A OBR OBS would give R2 a base award correct?

Welpe Wed May 20, 2009 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

Reading bossman's play description, I think this would be Type A obstruction in OBR. Do you disagree?

UmpJM Wed May 20, 2009 05:50pm

Welpe,

Per bossman's description, this is definitely "Type A" Obstruction under OBR rules; it's an immediate dead ball and the R2 would be awarded 3B and the R3 would be awarded home because he was "forced" by R2's award.

JM

MrUmpire Wed May 20, 2009 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

WHAT? Have you suddenly become a coach, or a mom?

A play is being made on the obstructed runner. Type A, eh?

mbyron Thu May 21, 2009 07:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

Dude, this is Type A. R2 gets 3B here. Pay attention. :rolleyes:

ozzy6900 Thu May 21, 2009 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 603564)
FED OBS, while similar to OBR Type B, has a one base award beyond what they've already achieved attached to it. Am I interpreting that correctly?

FED obstruction is Type B in OBR. The difference in FED is that when you call obstruction in FED, you will award at least 1 base in the forward direction (the part I hate). Example: R1 dives back to 1st on a pickoff and is obstructed by F3. In FED, R1 must go to 2nd base - there is no choice or question (now you know why I said I hate this).

johnnyg08 Thu May 21, 2009 10:57am

it's not exactly type B OBR as you're stating. you nicely described the difference. I think we agree.

johnnyg08 Thu May 21, 2009 10:58am

However, wouldn't the scenario you're describing above be Type A, since a play is being made on R1 diving back to the base?

SanDiegoSteve Thu May 21, 2009 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603626)
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 603747)
Dude, this is Type A. R2 gets 3B here. Pay attention. :rolleyes:

Now that's being your own worst critic!:) I like it, and I like it a lot.:p

UmpJM Thu May 21, 2009 02:46pm

Steve,

I thought he was bein' a little hard on the guy. ;)

JM

ozzy6900 Fri May 22, 2009 06:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 603807)
However, wouldn't the scenario you're describing above be Type A, since a play is being made on R1 diving back to the base?

In OBR, yes. But in FED, there is no Type A. All obstruction in FED is delayed as in OBR Type B.

Bishopcolle Fri May 22, 2009 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 603798)
FED obstruction is Type B in OBR. The difference in FED is that when you call obstruction in FED, you will award at least 1 base in the forward direction (the part I hate). Example: R1 dives back to 1st on a pickoff and is obstructed by F3. In FED, R1 must go to 2nd base - there is no choice or question (now you know why I said I hate this).

I don't see why that award is bad....If you don't penalize the defense for OBS, why wouldn't they obstruct every time?

bob jenkins Fri May 22, 2009 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 603964)
In OBR, yes. But in FED, there is no Type A. All obstruction in FED is delayed as in OBR Type B.

Yes, but all obstruction in FED has a minimum award, as in OBR Type A.

imo, it's wrong to say "Fed (or NCAA) is like OBR type x" -- they just are what they are and if we work multiple rules sets, we need to know the multiple rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1