The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 12:31am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Batters Interference

R1 and R3 1 out, B24 at the plate. R1 takes off for second with the pitch and B24s follow through carries him into the throw of the catcher causing the throw to errant. Who do you call out here? Is it the batter because he interfered? Is it R1 cause he was the one being played upon? Or is it R3 because it hurts the offense the most?

With 2 outs it's the batter right?
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me

Last edited by w_sohl; Thu May 14, 2009 at 12:41am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 12:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

w_sohl,

Yes, with two outs, the batter is out.

With less than two outs, the batter is still out.

The only time R3 is out is when the batter interferes with the catcher's attempt to retire an R3 who is attempting to advance on the pitch (i.e. squeeze or steal).

If the batter happened to strike out on the pitch, the runner who was being played upon is out.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 12:41am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
w_sohl,

Yes, with two outs, the batter is out.

With less than two outs, the batter is still out.

The only time R3 is out is when the batter interferes with the catcher's attempt to retire an R3 who is attempting to advance on the pitch (i.e. squeeze or steal).

If the batter happened to strike out on the pitch, the runner who was being played upon is out.

JM
And then I obviously replace all runners TOP.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

w_sohl,

That is correct. If the interference is enforced, remaining runners return.

The only exception is if the F2 successfully retires the runner he was playing upon, despite the BI. Then the BI is "disregarded" and any advances on the play would stand.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
And then I obviously replace all runners TOP.
Technically, runners always return to the base last touched at TOI. Very often, that's equivalent to TOP.

Note that with R1 and R3, with less than 2 outs you can have the following sequence of events:
1. R1 attempts to steal 2B.
2. BI as F2 throws to 2B.
3. R3 attempts to steal home.
4. the throw to 2B retires R1.
5. R3 scores.

Because R1 is retired, the batter interference is ignored and the run scores. The defense does NOT have an option here (as I had a coach once ask). The batter will resume his time at bat.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Technically, runners always return to the base last touched at TOI. Very often, that's equivalent to TOP.

....
mbyron,

Your assertion is true for FED rules, but under OBR, when there is Offensive Interference, runners return to their TOP base, absent an "intervening play". As you say, it's usually the same base.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
mbyron,

Your assertion is true for FED rules, but under OBR, when there is Offensive Interference, runners return to their TOP base, absent an "intervening play". As you say, it's usually the same base.

JM
JM, this is not correct. The general penalty for offensive interference is to return runners to their TOI base, although some provisions for some kinds of interference specify otherwise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule 2.00
INTERFERENCE
(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with,
obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play.
If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner, or a runner out for interference,
all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the
umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference
, unless otherwise
provided by these rules.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 06:51pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Technically, runners always return to the base last touched at TOI. Very often, that's equivalent to TOP.

Note that with R1 and R3, with less than 2 outs you can have the following sequence of events:
1. R1 attempts to steal 2B.
2. BI as F2 throws to 2B.
3. R3 attempts to steal home.
4. the throw to 2B retires R1.
5. R3 scores.

Because R1 is retired, the batter interference is ignored and the run scores. The defense does NOT have an option here (as I had a coach once ask). The batter will resume his time at bat.
Wow, I envision this with a coach who knows the rule (former umpire turned darkside). R3 scores before R1 is out, coach realizes and succesfully gets his kids to not make a play on R1 so that he isn't retired. Now, we put the runners back on 1st and 3rd and the batter is out #2. That would be fun to explain to the O coach.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
Wow, I envision this with a coach who knows the rule (former umpire turned darkside). R3 scores before R1 is out, coach realizes and succesfully gets his kids to not make a play on R1 so that he isn't retired. Now, we put the runners back on 1st and 3rd and the batter is out #2. That would be fun to explain to the O coach.
Now, if I'm the O coach (also a former umpire,) I argue that the defense was not attempting to make a play, given the intentional attempt not to get the out, and without an attempted play, there is no interference.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 10:51pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
Wow, I envision this with a coach who knows the rule (former umpire turned darkside). R3 scores before R1 is out, coach realizes and succesfully gets his kids to not make a play on R1 so that he isn't retired. Now, we put the runners back on 1st and 3rd and the batter is out #2. That would be fun to explain to the O coach.
A throw must directly retire the runner for INT to be ignored. If R1 gets in a rundown the ball is dead, INT is enforced.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 10:48pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
The only time R3 is out is when the batter interferes with the catcher's attempt to retire an R3 who is attempting to advance on the pitch (i.e. squeeze or steal).
With less than 2 outs. With 2 outs batter is out. Your statement is still correct, but not always.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
w_sohl,

Yes, with two outs, the batter is out.

With less than two outs, the batter is still out.
This is not an accurate statement when BI occurs and the catcher is attempting to retire R1 as in the OP's scenario. The number of outs is irrelevant. The batter is the one who is always out on BI unless he struck out on the pitch. In that case, because he cannot be called out twice, the runner on whom the play was being made or could have been made is declared out. Whether there are 0 outs or 2 outs, the batter is still the one banged out for BI.

Your statement above refers to plays at the plate. With <2 outs, the runner coming home is out. With two outs, the batter is out and no run scores.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25 View Post
Whether there are 0 outs or 2 outs, the batter is still the one banged out for BI.
Read JM's answer again, carefully. He is saying the same thing you are.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 15, 2009, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
The first part of his answer appeared to indicate otherwise, Bob. Of course, I could simply me misreading it. That can happen on 4 hours of sleep.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batters Interference justcallmeblue Softball 6 Sun May 11, 2008 05:08pm
batters interference/interference by teammate _Bruno_ Baseball 7 Mon Apr 07, 2008 07:28am
Batters Interference, Chicago Thing? Bandit Softball 10 Thu Apr 03, 2008 08:59am
batters interference ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Fri Mar 14, 2008 06:13pm
Batters Box sprivitor Softball 2 Wed May 28, 2003 11:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1