The Official Forum

The Official Forum (
-   Baseball (
-   -   OBR Appeal (

tasoump Tue Jul 02, 2002 12:02pm

Situation: Runners on 2nd and 3rd no outs. Batter hits fly ball to centerfield. R2 leaves early and does not retag, R3 tags at time of catch, F8 throws out R3 attempting to score. F2 after retiring R3 throws the ball to 2nd base, F4 tags 2nd base while in possesion of ball to appeal R2 leaving early. OBR 7.10 States: Appeal must be made before the next pitch or any play or attempted play. Does the play at the plate count as a play or attempted play? Do you allow the appeal therefore completing a triple play? In my opinion the appeal is proper but other umps have told me it is't allowed.
This question is for OBR not FED Rules.

Tim C Tue Jul 02, 2002 02:39pm

The play at the plate is a continuation of the original play and is NOT considered a play upon itself.

Am I missing something?

NO, the play does not end the attempt to appeal.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53am.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1