![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The role of the designated hitter is terminated when the designated hitter assumes a defensive position. So DH is in and the defensive player is out. So it would appear #8 is the illegal player for playing defense when he should be on the bench because the DH assumed a defensive position. Replace #8 on defense, #22 bats in that slot as he should and you need a new player to bat in #25's slot. #8 did do something wrong (or his coach did not recognize it). He stayed in the game when he should have left. DH goes in on defense, he goes out. He is the illegal player. He may have been unaware that he was doing wrong, but he has to leave when DH enters on defense. Coach should definitelly know this. #8 is the illegal player as #22 can enter on defense, position he is playing is irrelevant, batting order is. Legal substitute for sick #25 could have come in to play catcher when #22 went to LF. Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 10:08pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Illegal player, not illegal sub. He can't stay in the game when he has been substituted for, which he has when DH who was batting for him enters on defense. DH has legally changed status from DH to defensive player and batter for himself. #8 is playing illegally. #22 can't be an illegal substitute by assuming a defensive position which he can legally do.
Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 10:17pm. |
|
|||
|
No, because the DH is now occupying a different spot in the order than where he started.
|
|
|||
|
Read the original post. There was no mention of batting infractions, only that #22 replaced #25 in LF. There is no batting order infraction mentioned in the post. One must conclude that only fielding changes have been made illegally. #8 has to leave. DH who was batting for him entered on defense. Defensive player must leave the game when his DH enters on defense.
Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 10:31pm. |
|
|||
|
I do not think the rules defintively address the question raised in the OP. And I certainly have not been able to find a case play or interpretation that is conclusive either.
I found Dash's suggested ruling entirely consistent with the "letter of the law", and, to me, consistent with the spirit and intent of the rule, as well. Initially, I thought DG was just playing "devil's advocate". (And maybe he is - I don't know.) But, as I read his arguments, his "opposite" suggested ruling is equally "technically" correct. It doesn't quite strike me as consistent with the "spirit" of the rule, but maybe it is and I just don't understand the intent and spirit of the rule. More likely, they didn't think of this "twist" when they wrote the rule, so they didn't address it. That makes it a "point not covered" - your lucky day, you can't be wrong! In the OP, after thinking about it, I decided it would come down to this. If #8 has been playing well - sticking pitches, blocking stuff, letting me see,... - he's staying and #22 is done. If, on the other hand, #8 has been pulling pitches and dropping strikes, 'matadoring' pitches in the dirt, and moving around after he sets, then he's done and #22 is staying. JM P.S. In regard to the "noticing" question in the OP, as described I very much doubt I would have noticed this before the coach brought it to my attention.
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. Last edited by UmpJM; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 10:50pm. Reason: Added P.S. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And I agree, illegal substitute vs. illegal player is a fine point, possibly not covered. But if you have been subsituted for and are still playing I don't know what else to call it.. I darn sure not going to penalize a DH for entering on defense. Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 10:56pm. |
|
|||
|
Given the coach's own words, it's #22 for #25. Absent any mention of other players, that's what it is.
Quote:
Cite? Or is it that the DH is forbidden to enter while the fielder for which he is batting is still fielding? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Coach, #22 can't replace #25, he can only replace #8 on defense. I don't know, somewhere in the mid-1880's. You can't have a defensive player and his substitute playing defense at the same time. DH complicates since that did not come along until the American League invented this, but the concept is the same My books say DH enters on defense, fielder DH was batting for leaves. Read 3-1-4b and tell me how you can rule that the DH who entered the game on defense is restricted and the defensive player he entered for gets to stay. The DH is allowed by rule to assume a defensive position. QED. Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 11:29pm. |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE]
Quote:
#25 is batting 8th and playing left field. #22 is batting 9th and hitting for the catcher #8. Home coach comes to us as the teams are changing in the middle of the 5th and says, "I messed up. #25 got sick and I sent #22 to left #8 did NOTHING wrong. Let's put it another way. FORGET about the mix-up in the original OP. As the HT is taking the field in the top of 6, skip comes to you and says "Blue I am replacing #25 with Number 22" Now since you have the line-up card and start to mark the change you will notice that #22 is the DH and batting for #8 and therefore will say 'Skip no can do" Meaning #22 is ILLEGAL. Therefore, when #22 plays defense for the left fielder #22 is the ILLEGAL sub NOT number 8. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 12 Man Defense | Buckeyes | Football | 2 | Wed Sep 28, 2005 07:58am |
| PSK & 12 men on defense | Foot-n-bats | Football | 10 | Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:40pm |
| Ref the Defense? | Nu1 | Basketball | 8 | Sun May 30, 2004 02:46pm |
| 3-3 Defense | SteveF | Basketball | 26 | Thu Jan 08, 2004 11:41am |
| Defense | ilya | Basketball | 5 | Wed May 23, 2001 02:19pm |