![]() |
|
|
|||
DH Plays Defense - Fed Rules
For the home team:
#25 is batting 8th and playing left field. #22 is batting 9th and hitting for the catcher #8. Home coach comes to us as the teams are changing in the middle of the 5th and says, "I messed up. #25 got sick and I sent #22 to left field for him." Two questions: How many of you would have caught this? What happens when the coach tells you this? |
|
|||
1. Absent other evidence, I probably wouldn't have caught it.
2. a) #22 is restricted to the bench for the rest of the game. b) the position of DH is terminated c) you need a sub. to bat in the 8 hole d) #8 now bats in the 9 hole Last edited by dash_riprock; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 09:09am. |
|
|||
Under normal circumstances, had the coach done a proper substitution, there would be nothing wrong.
However, he mad an illegal substitution and he became part of the game (unannounced). So, we have no choice but to enforce the illegal sub rule. 22 is restricted. 25 has been subbed out once (and may re-enter). 8 is now batting for himself and DH is terminated in the 9th slot. Coach may put in a sub for 25 or have him re-enter. |
|
|||
What's the rule that says #22 is the player to be restricted? When he went to play the field, the DH was terminated, and either he or #8 is now illegally in the game. I don't see how we determine which one is illegal.
Here's a related situation: "3.1.4 SITUATION A: DH Jones, who has been batting for F3 in the fourth position in the batting order, hits a triple in the fifth inning and sprains his ankle sliding into third base. His coach has S1 enter the game to be a pinch runner for DH Jones. How does that affect the playing status of DH Jones and F3? RULING: When a pinch runner or pinch hitter replaces the DH, that player becomes the DH. F3 would not be affected by the substitution. However, if the DH were to play defense, F3 would have to leave the game." This casebook play seems to suggest that #8 should have (or could have) left the game, and then #22 would just be an unannounced defensive change. What rule/ruling says #22 rather than #8 is illegal? (I'm not arguing that #8 is a better choice; just that he is as good a choice.) Last edited by Dave Reed; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 03:13pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Very interesting situation here. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The role of the designated hitter is terminated when the designated hitter assumes a defensive position. So DH is in and the defensive player is out. So it would appear #8 is the illegal player for playing defense when he should be on the bench because the DH assumed a defensive position. Replace #8 on defense, #22 bats in that slot as he should and you need a new player to bat in #25's slot. #8 did do something wrong (or his coach did not recognize it). He stayed in the game when he should have left. DH goes in on defense, he goes out. He is the illegal player. He may have been unaware that he was doing wrong, but he has to leave when DH enters on defense. Coach should definitelly know this. #8 is the illegal player as #22 can enter on defense, position he is playing is irrelevant, batting order is. Legal substitute for sick #25 could have come in to play catcher when #22 went to LF. Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 23, 2009 at 10:08pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
12 Man Defense | Buckeyes | Football | 2 | Wed Sep 28, 2005 07:58am |
PSK & 12 men on defense | Foot-n-bats | Football | 10 | Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:40pm |
Ref the Defense? | Nu1 | Basketball | 8 | Sun May 30, 2004 02:46pm |
3-3 Defense | SteveF | Basketball | 26 | Thu Jan 08, 2004 11:41am |
Defense | ilya | Basketball | 5 | Wed May 23, 2001 02:19pm |