The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 10:05pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Anyway, your interpretation is unenforceable. All a runner would have to do is slide into the fielder on every play and that would be obstruction--after all, if he slid there, that must be the part of the bag he wanted to access, right?
Hogwash. If F3 does not give reasonable access he is guilty of obstruction and I can enforce. If he does not want to get called for it then he needs to give accesss.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Hogwash. If F3 does not give reasonable access he is guilty of obstruction and I can enforce. If he does not want to get called for it then he needs to give accesss.
Which one is it? Reasonable access, or just access?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 10:43pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Which one is it? Reasonable access, or just access?
You can't be serious. Obstinate comes to mind.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
You can't be serious. Obstinate comes to mind.
I am quite serious, since you have yet to say anything uncouched in vague terms. You have yet to address the enforceability issue that I raised. Do I need to be blunt? Here goes:

Define "reasonable access."

Define "part of the base the runner can use."

You very well be meaning the same interpretation that I have been taught, but you haven't said squat as to the specifics of it. As I envision what you are saying, your interpretation is easily abused by runners, because it relies on QED logic.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2009, 06:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Hogwash. If F3 does not give reasonable access he is guilty of obstruction and I can enforce. If he does not want to get called for it then he needs to give accesss.
DG --

That is clearly NOT the FED interp. There's a specific case play or interp where Rx tries to go for one part of the base, Fx blocks that part but leaves the opposite part open, then catches the ball and makes the tag. The ruling is that this is legal -- the ruling is that Fx must provide "some" access to the base, even if it's not the part that the runner wants.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2009, 07:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
DG --

That is clearly NOT the FED interp. There's a specific case play or interp where Rx tries to go for one part of the base, Fx blocks that part but leaves the opposite part open, then catches the ball and makes the tag. The ruling is that this is legal -- the ruling is that Fx must provide "some" access to the base, even if it's not the part that the runner wants.
That's my understanding of the interp as well. "Reasonable access" does not appear anywhere in the rules, cases, interps, etc.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2009, 07:57am
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
DG --

That is clearly NOT the FED interp. There's a specific case play or interp where Rx tries to go for one part of the base, Fx blocks that part but leaves the opposite part open, then catches the ball and makes the tag. The ruling is that this is legal -- the ruling is that Fx must provide "some" access to the base, even if it's not the part that the runner wants.
That is not the interp given at our meeting. What is the case play? I would like to study it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2009, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by dg View Post
that is not the interp given at our meeting. What is the case play? I would like to study it.

8.3.2l
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2009, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
8.3.2l
For those of you who are checking, that's an 'L', not an 'I'.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2009, 05:43pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
8.3.2l
Thanks. That is NOT how it was explained at our state meeting.

PS. I have yet to see OBS called on a runner diving back to 1B on a pickoff, but then, the fielders are not blocking either.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2009, 07:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
I must bow to the fact that I was wrong in my answer to the OP. After discussing this with another Senior member of my association and using a white board, he proved to me that I was wrong in my answer.

The BU will cover the pickoff and take any play on R2 going to 3rd. The PU (who signaled that he was staying home) will drop back and watch the action at 1st and be available for obstruction and the pulled foot, should help be needed by the BU's request. PU will also turn and watch any subsequent action at 3rd and be prepared for R2 to round and come home. This is also in keeping with the CCA manual.

Again, my apologies....... I blew it!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2009, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
I must bow to the fact that I was wrong in my answer to the OP. After discussing this with another Senior member of my association and using a white board, he proved to me that I was wrong in my answer.

The BU will cover the pickoff and take any play on R2 going to 3rd. The PU (who signaled that he was staying home) will drop back and watch the action at 1st and be available for obstruction and the pulled foot, should help be needed by the BU's request. PU will also turn and watch any subsequent action at 3rd and be prepared for R2 to round and come home. This is also in keeping with the CCA manual.

Again, my apologies....... I blew it!
I didn't want to say anything. I figured that you just had a brain cramp like we all do from time to time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1