![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Another example. First batter of a middle inning grounds out. Offensive coach comes out with scorebook in hand, defensive coaches joins in. No argument, just gentlemanly discussion with PU. They separate to their respective dugouts and the next batter comes to the plate and PU shows and says "2 outs". Now if you were BU would you wonder how we could have one batter and 2 outs and call time to ask the PU, or would you post-game this so it would not appear to be throwing the PU under the bus? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Situation 1: R1 stealing, batter interferes with catcher on the throw. PU properly rules INT and calls the runner out and batter remains at the plate. You are BU. Situation 2. With runner on 1B and 1 out in the 7th inning of tie game between two conference rivals. Visiting team batter comes to the plate and takes ball one. Defensive coach comes out to PU with scorebook in hand, defensive coach joins, gentlemanly discussion and then PU calls the batter out. You are BU Situation 3. Fly ball to F7, F7 catches the ball below the waste on the run, snow-cone style, ball touches the dirt but he comes up with the ball no bobble. BU rules no catch. You are PU. Do you flash the "what's the situation signal" for these too, or call time for discussion? 1 and 3 are clearly misapplied rules and 2 has potential to be. Last edited by DG; Mon Apr 06, 2009 at 08:00pm. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
No, 2 and 3 aren't "clearly misapplied rules." All of these are plays in which the other umpire has responsibility, and is the one who has to make the call, and has better position to see all relevant factors. You seem to ignore the fact that the offended team has the ability to get any misapplication rectified--and my responsibility starts at that point, or the point where my partner asks for help, and not before. |
|
|||
|
You mean that "Enforcement of penalties is concurrent jurisdiction" is your already answer?
Answer a straight question. Would you post-game an obvious mis-application of rule or have discussion during the game to potentially correct? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
That's not a straight question. If I have shared or primary responsibility for a decision, then I would rectify it at that time. If not, it goes after the game. I'd be giving the "I have something for you" signal throughout the ensuing discussion, but no overt input. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| The right call or the correct call? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
| Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |