The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New England, Home of the Brave!
Posts: 312
Send a message via AIM to Rcichon
Obr

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManInBlue View Post
I have, for some reason, gotten confused about a situation. I need some help.

1. If a runner is in contact with a base (one which he has legally acquired and has not been forced to vacate) and he is hit with a fair batted ball - what's the call?

2. If R1 is hit with a fair batted ball while in contact with 1B - what's the call?

3. If in sitch #2, F3 is behind him and could have made a play on the ball - what's the call?

Just for arguements sake let's assume it's a line drive, not an IFF.

I realize that there aren't many reasons for a runner to be in contact with a base when the ball is hit, but...

FED and OBR, please, if they differ.

1) If a fielder (except F1) has the ability to field the ball BEFORE the contact (F3 in front of R1, ball gets by F3) play on. Why give F3 any protection there? He had his chance.

2) Same as 1.

3) R1 out.

I'll look up references when I get home.
__________________
Strikes are great.
Outs are better.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I have, for some reason, gotten confused about a situation.

Understandable if you have had anything to do with softball, in which the base is a sanctuary in most codes.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
Softball ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 02:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
OK - you have confimred my original belief. I had a sitch presented to me by my UIC for HS. He said it's nothing. He knows his rules and so I got to looking and discussing it with another UIC.

The problem is that my HS UIC is also the UIC for softball. I thought the base was a safe haven in softball, but have not done enough to know for sure. He got his rules mixed up.

Thanks a million. I thought I knew the rules better than what he described, but he had me doubting myself.

The IFF exception I wasn't confused about - that's why I tried to omit it.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Question kokayne Basketball 4 Mon Nov 20, 2006 05:02pm
Quick Question brandan89 Basketball 0 Tue Jan 10, 2006 01:58pm
Quick OOB Question cmckenna Basketball 4 Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:15pm
Quick Question Swanny Basketball 12 Tue Nov 19, 2002 01:44pm
Quick question DaRef Basketball 2 Tue Nov 13, 2001 10:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1