The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 29, 2000, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Post

During last night Mets Astros game the following occured.

1 Out Bordick on 1st - Todd Pratt up with a full count.

Bobby V call for hit and run - Pratt checks his swing (no motion at this point by PU) - Pratt starts to walk towards first.

Since Bordick was off with the pitch and F2 didn't really know if the pitch was a strike or not, he threw to 2nd. Because Pratt started towards 1st - F2 had to alter his throw and as a result he threw wild to second which allowed Bordick to go to third.

Nothing was called. Again I'm doing my best to describe what I saw. Also, as Fran Healey mentioned if the Astros were not 19 games behind the wild-card spot perhaps the manager what have put up a stink on this one.

My question is this. When the batter gets a base on balls does he first have to hesitate before going to first when F2 is trying to throw out a runner? or is it up to F2 to get in proper position to make throw?

Thanks in advance


Pete Booth
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 29, 2000, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Post

quote:
Originally posted by PeteBooth:
During last night Mets Astros game the following occured.

1 Out Bordick on 1st - Todd Pratt up with a full count.

Bobby V call for hit and run - Pratt checks his swing (no motion at this point by PU) - Pratt starts to walk towards first.

Since Bordick was off with the pitch and F2 didn't really know if the pitch was a strike or not, he threw to 2nd. Because Pratt started towards 1st - F2 had to alter his throw and as a result he threw wild to second which allowed Bordick to go to third.

Nothing was called. Again I'm doing my best to describe what I saw. Also, as Fran Healey mentioned if the Astros were not 19 games behind the wild-card spot perhaps the manager what have put up a stink on this one.

My question is this. When the batter gets a base on balls does he first have to hesitate before going to first when F2 is trying to throw out a runner? or is it up to F2 to get in proper position to make throw?

Thanks in advance


Pete Booth



Pete:

If it's a full count and the pitch is ball four, the catcher doesn't have any business throwing to second. F2's bad in this instance, I think.

First, a professional umpire doesn't make a motion with his arm on a call of ball. He doesn't point the runner to first. Doug Harvey: "G.D., Carl. Those guys know where first base is!"

What happened is: The pitch was ball four, the umpire said: "Ball!", the batter became a batter-runner and started properly for first, and the Lastros catcher turned dumb.

The batter does not have to wait before he starts for first.

Play: R2. Full count, R2 goes, ball four, the batter starts forward. Good catchers throw behind him.

Play: R1. Full count, R1 goes, ball four, the batter starts foward. Good catchers throw the ball back to the pitcher.

Hey, you wanted to get the Board moving. You're doing your part. Get your buddies over here.

------------------
Papa C
Editor, eUmpire

[This message has been edited by Carl Childress (edited August 29, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 29, 2000, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 17
Question

Carl:

At first I misread the the original post. I assumed that a checked-swing appeal was coming and that U1 (if a RHB) said he went.

If that were the case, now B/R does noes not havew the right to go to first. Can he interfere with the attempt to throw out R1?

My guess is he would not be guilty if he is still in the box and does nothing to intentionally interfere. Out of the box, he might be guilty if he actually interferes with the throw.

------------------
Take care,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 29, 2000, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Mark Land:
Carl:

At first I misread the the original post. I assumed that a checked-swing appeal was coming and that U1 (if a RHB) said he went.

If that were the case, now B/R does noes not havew the right to go to first. Can he interfere with the attempt to throw out R1?

My guess is he would not be guilty if he is still in the box and does nothing to intentionally interfere. Out of the box, he might be guilty if he actually interferes with the throw.




Mark:

The professional mechanics are quite set in stone now for a call of "Ball! No, he didn't go!" when the count is full. The plate umpire must check at once with the approriate base umpire without waiting for the defense to ask.

When Pete said the batter checked his swing and the umpire did nothing, I assumed that he merely semi-waved the bat without coming even close to offering at the pitch.

Either way, when the plate umpire sings out "Ball Four!", the batter immediately becomes a batter-runner and he may start for first. I would suggest calling an out for interference only if you judged he interfered deliberately.

------------------
Papa C
Editor, eUmpire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1