The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 16, 2008, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Jeter's bat hit Buck on the backswing

Not in the game I was watching. That is, if you interpret backswing to mean the continuous traveling of the bat around and behind the batter after the swing. Or does it mean some sort of reversal of the bat back toward and across the plate after the swing? Even then, that didn't occur in this situation. Jeter simply swung and leaned over the plate. Maybe there's a picture somewhere on the web.

Maybe Bell checked 6.06 (c) after the game and then gave the reporters explanation that fit the rule.

Backswing certainly means something different in golf.

From the New York Times: "Damon was sent back to first, instead of being called out . . ." Even the Grey Lady thinks the runner is out on batter INT.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Sat Aug 16, 2008 at 10:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 16, 2008, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 78
by simply reading what happened as described in the OP I knew it was backswing interference. Seems pretty logical/easy etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 16, 2008, 11:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
...if you interpret backswing to mean the continuous traveling of the bat around and behind the batter after the swing.
That's the motion. I'm not going to quote the whole PBUC rule, or the similar comments in J/R, but the PBUC Manual titles the rule "Backswing Hits Catcher", and it refers to the bat hitting the catcher or ball in back (hence the name) of the batter during the follow through.

PBUC manual doesn't call it backswing interference, because it isn't interference at all, but only a dead ball strike, and no runners can advance.

J/R terms it confusingly one kind of "interference without a play", and according to them, it is interference, but it is still only a dead ball strike.

Apparently the Grey Lady hasn't read all the interps!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 16, 2008, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
My Take On It

I bet it had something to do w/ the swing prior to interference saving Jeter's at-bat.
Jeter would have been ruled out for interference had he not swung.

J/R probably discusses the matter and references the same OBR rule.
There is probably a case play in MLBUM or PBUC to go with it citing dead ball interference.
{no bases can be run, no outs can be made}
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sat Aug 16, 2008 at 06:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 17, 2008, 04:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
Yes, but

Gray here says we have something different, and I hope it is not a case of backing and filling because PU missed a call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
back pick, give a step, does anyone call this today boiseball Basketball 22 Fri Nov 02, 2007 02:53pm
Tough call for me today DTQ_Blue Baseball 33 Wed May 09, 2007 09:55am
Tough call for me today DTQ_Blue Softball 6 Sat May 05, 2007 08:55pm
Interference in the Yankees-Royals game? greymule Baseball 12 Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:08am
Twins/Royals last night johnnyg08 Baseball 12 Fri Jul 07, 2006 01:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1