The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Apr 04, 2002, 09:05am
Official Forum Member

There has been both PROS / CONS written about the subject of talking to players / coaches / joking with them.

While I'm not a proponent of hanging around After a game to kiss up to the coaches. I am an avid believer in talking etc. during the game. After the game I simply meet my partner and head for the exits

I guess it boils down to one's personality. Also, this is one area in which age doesn't make a difference. I talk to players whether they are 6 or 60 - it's just me.

Now I am firmly aware when there is a close call or we kick a call, the coach or player whom we thought were our "friends" will come down on us in a heartbeat, but that doesn't stop me from talking to them.

IMO we are not there to be Atilla the Hun . Yes we have to have order out there and not be too loosy goosy but it makes the game more pleasurable when there is more of a friendly atmosphere.

After all besides the rules / mechancis and Game Control aspect of umpiring it should be fun as well otherwise we wouldn't do it in the first place.

So what's your take on talking to players / coaches and do you joke with them as well?

Pete Booth
Old Thu Apr 04, 2002, 10:00am
Official Forum Member