![]() |
|
|
|||
how would you fix this?
Sitch
I will try to properly paint this picture 0 outs bases empty...2 man mechanics...obr F3 is playing about 25 feet behind the bag and BU is slightly further back in A Lefthanded batter hits a hot grounder down the line, over the base where F3 makes a great diving stop. BU sees its fair, makes proper voice mechanic (meaning none), and just points with his left arm FOUL....uuuuggghhh.... F3, who has heard nothing, knows its a fair ball and it might be a close play (pitcher didn't cover) and runs to first only to see that the B/R has stopped running. F3 steps on the bag and the BU takes a couple steps toward the base and gives an out mechanic.... COMMENCE CRAPHOUSE I am UIC and ,without being asked, walk up the 1B line to talk to BU who has just said, "What the hell did I just do?" loud enough for the offensive dugout to hear...needless to say he was embarrassed.... If anyone cares I will tell you how we fixed it later but I am interested in how you guys would have fixed it. Stay with out or call it a foul ball? |
|
|||
Under FED, of course, once BU signals foul the ball is dead by rule. The defense cannot record an out.
OBR is less clear about this kind of umpire error. The BRD has an OBR ruling that says "the umpire may reverse his call if everyone concerned ignored his initial signal." The umpire's error likely caused BR to stop running. To stick with the erroneous call would give the defense an advantage not intended by the rules. I would stick with the foul call, apologize to the defense for the blown call, and explain that if it had been a double down the line and I signaled foul, we'd probably still stick with the call. BU needs to do all the talking during the explanations.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by gordon30307; Wed May 21, 2008 at 09:12am. |
|
|||
Quote:
WHAT? It was called foul. The runner stopped. The craphouse happened because they saw the foul call.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Whether you call FOUL or SIGNAL FOUL = FOUL Example: PU puts the "stop sign up" towards F1. That means we have TIME and DO NOT PITCH. The PU does need to say anything. Bottom Line: Rightly or wrongly when the players hear or see an umpire signal FOUL they STOP. There are those rare instances (in both the LLWS and a ML baseball game) where a FOUL call was changed to fair. The ball in this play is FOUL. BU admitted mistake (hey it happens) now time to move on. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
FED Case Play -
Quote:
Altho the OP states OBR, I'm posting the FED case play here to give some guidance on what they want us to do in essentially the same situation. I think the Major League Umpire Manual has something silimar in it, but I don't have a copy - prehaps someone else can post that so you can see what OBR has to say... 2.16.1 SITUATION B: On a count of 1-ball, 2-strikes, B1 hits a ground ball down the third-base line and the umpire inadvertently declares “foul ball.” F6 fields the ball in fair territory and throws to F3. RULING: The ball is dead immediately once it hits the ground; B1 returns to bat with a count of 1-2. |
|
|||
Devil's Advocating
The proper foul mechanic is raising both arms in the air and verbalizing "foul". Right? BU did not use either mechanic, just pointed with his left arm, presumedly toward foul territory. If memory serves, the foul mechanic was changed many years ago precisely to avoid accidental foul calls.
The proper fair mechanic is pointing towards fair territory and verbalizing nothing. This is what BU did, except for the accidental point in the wrong direction. So why is BR entitled to think foul was called? Well, I guess I know the answer to that question. If the commonly understood foul signal caused BR to stop running, then BU has to eat the foul call. But I was surprised no one mentioned the wrong foul signal. Is pointing foul, rather than raising both arms, the proper signal anywhere? |
|
|||
Quote:
Both hands in the air is "time". Pointing is the indicator.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Gordon...
If someone stops "playing" in this case, because of an umpires signal of foul, then its a foul ball. The Umpire who made the erroneus call has to eat it, and take the crap. This wasnt a ball hit in the gap, where no one is going to make a "foul" call. This was a ball up the line, maybe BR had his head down, whatever, its foul. And your going to let the play stand? Your going to most likely have a bigger sh*thouse. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|