The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2008, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigda65
I posted this on the etemz board, but I would like to get some of you guys opinions.

R2, Infield playing in on grass, runner going on pitch. Blooper hit directly over F6's head that hits runner who is directly behind F6.

Out or play on?

Do we consider how high above F6 the ball is?

My gut tells me, unless the fielder had some chance to glove the ball, that we have an out.

What say you?
What rules set?

Under OBR, as a general statement, the runner is out when hit by a fair batted ball in fair territory unless "he can't reasonably be expected to avoid it" -- which means the ball is deflected, or passes so near a fielder that the runner would expect the fielder to catch the ball.

So, in your play, we DO consider how high above F6 the ball is. If it passes right past his glove, then the runner would expect him to field it, and we'd play on. If it's "well above" (and there's no way to define this), then the runner is out.

Under FED, and, I think, NCAA (given a rules change this year), we'd play on.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1