![]() |
|
|
|||
the "complete possession" portion of that interpretation is misleading and poorly worded. a better wording woud include something about the impetus of the ball similar to the pitched ball going out of play. i did not see it live, and am only working on the video clip you linked to. it looks like Laz, the 1BU, signals ground rule double by holding up 2 fingers. if both runs were allowed to score, which they did in this case, then i bet there was a conference that changed the ground rule double call to a time of deflection award. basically, what the interp you cited is trying to say is that if a ball is hit down the line and it hits off the players glove and immediately deflects into the stands, it will be penalized as a time of pitch award. in this case, it appears that because the ball was juggled/bobbled so many times they changed it to a time of deflection award because the ball did not immediately go out of play due to the original deflection.
what is confusing me about it is how the b/r ended up at 2B. if they ruled it a ground rule double, then only 1 run should have scored, and the answer to the title of this thread would be, "looks like it." if they didn't rule it a g/r double, then they must have judged that R1 was past 2B at the time of deflection and the b/r was not past 1B at the time of deflection, which would mean score, score, second. unfortunately i do not know any of the guys on the crew well enough to ask them about it, so we will have to continue to speculate. ![]() edited because the first draft was hard to read and i have more time now to work on it.
__________________
"To dee chowers!!" Last edited by bobbybanaduck; Tue May 13, 2008 at 02:42pm. |
|
|||
big leap
Bobby
I understand what you are saying and poorly worded is one thing but... that is HUGE leap from 'complete possession' to bobbling it out of play after a certain amount of time and bobbles....I know you were a professional umpire and will not argue with how you/they interpret what happened but I have 2 questions for you ... 1) if 'you/they' ruled only 1 run scores and R1 to 3rd and B/R to 2nd would you be reprimanded for that ruling? 2)what would you have ruled? |
|
|||
also...
it seems, if you are correct, that this would be easy to change....meaning you could just make the ruling identical to the 'pitched ball' ruling where if a pitched ball gets by the catcher, would not have gone out of play, and the catcher kicks it out of play it is then 2 bases from time of deflection....
These manuals are like interpreting the ancient tablets of Egypt sometimes... pain in the butt |
|
|||
Quote:
i don't know what i would have ruled at the time it happened. seeing it now i would have the same thing as they had providing that the unwritten interpretation of the time of deflection rule is allowable.
__________________
"To dee chowers!!" |
|
|||
Bobby
I appreciate the reply and understand it and intuitively it makes sense....I will rule this way from now on but I sure wish I didn't have to rely on an unwritten interpretation when there is a written one that basically contradicts it...just doesnt seem that tidy....oh well... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Umpires in So Cal??Who do I call? | cjs | Softball | 9 | Tue Sep 12, 2006 06:45am |
Did I blow the call? | PABlue | Baseball | 22 | Fri Jun 09, 2006 09:48pm |
to blow pr not to blow, that is the question | James Neil | Football | 4 | Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:01pm |
What do you see- What do you blow | Peter Devana | Basketball | 17 | Sun Feb 03, 2002 12:46pm |
Correct call or Did I blow it ?? | Coach Stacy | Baseball | 24 | Thu Jul 26, 2001 02:18pm |