The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 16, 2008, 09:08am
rei
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
Tony:

The Oregon School Activities Association sent the NFHS a question this spring on this EXACT type play.

The NFHS answered by saying "a "point" is a declaration" and the ball is foul by the inadvertant signal.

Tim Christensen
Yup. I was the idiot that did this SAME EXACT THING, except that I quickly reversed my point to fair and my inadvertent point to foul did not effect play at all, that caused Tim to contact NFHS.

I looked like I was doing some Egyptian dance or something.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 07, 2008, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 169
Once you call it foul, the ball is dead. You just have to tell the coach you made a mistake and it's something we have to play over. It happens, we make mistakes too.

My 2008 rule book is in my bag at home, but I do have my 2007 case book at work and 2.16.1 Sit. A describes this play. Once the ball hits the ground, the ball is dead and the batter is charged with a strike.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 07, 2008, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire99
FED game. R2, 1 out. B1 hits a "blooper" down the left field line. As the ball falls into fair territory close to the line I have a brain fart and signal foul. As F7 picks up the ball and starts to throw home to try to get R2, I see that he is looking in my direction and does not throw.
IN FED Foul is FOUL and CANNOT be reversed. The coach can "stand on his head" etc. but it's FOUL.

OBR - There is precedent set in OBR that would allow the call of Foul to be changed to fair IF the players DID NOT react to the call of Foul.

However, even in your OP the ball under all 3 codes would be FOUL because of As F7 picks up the ball and starts to throw home to try to get R2, I see that he is looking in my direction and does not throw. F7 REACTED to your call of Foul and thus made no attempt to try and get the runner.

In FED it's spelled out as Tee indicated. FOUL is FOUL.

In OBR under very mimimal circumstances you change the call to Fair.

It's one of those things we have to live with. We are human (at least i think we are) and most of us have had "brain farts" and it's part of the game. Live and learn but more importantly - Time to move on coach let's play.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 08, 2008, 06:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by msavakinas
yes. You could have offered to buy any and all adult beverages consumed after the game by the coach who lost while not in vicinity over the other coach.
Where was he when he lost?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1