The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 27, 2008, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]
I'm going to argue a second possible appeal--in returning to third, he did not touch the plate. So even if he got to third before the ball went dead, wouldn't you allow an appeal at home for failing to retouch it on the way back?
In OBR...NO...as long as he touched home plate after being told to score after the ball went into DBT. OBR has the "last time by" doctrine. As long as he touched the plate (or any base) on his "last time by" he is not liable to being called "out" on appeal for missing it on a previous time by.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 27, 2008, 08:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawump
In OBR...NO...as long as he touched home plate after being told to score after the ball went into DBT. OBR has the "last time by" doctrine. As long as he touched the plate (or any base) on his "last time by" he is not liable to being called "out" on appeal for missing it on a previous time by.

But say he left third early, touched home, walked toward the dugout, then bypassed home as he returned to third and stayed there (no play, no ball thrown out of play). Would he be out if they appealed home?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 27, 2008, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72
But say he left third early, touched home, walked toward the dugout, then bypassed home as he returned to third and stayed there (no play, no ball thrown out of play). Would he be out if they appealed home?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 27, 2008, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Ok that's what I thought. Just needed confirmation. Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the proper ruling on this? ump66 Baseball 11 Fri May 11, 2007 06:15pm
Coach wants help making a proper appeal NewNCref Softball 18 Wed May 09, 2007 10:15am
Proper Appeal Four Seam Softball 2 Thu May 03, 2007 10:22pm
Partner not allowing proper appeal NSABlue Softball 5 Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:39pm
What's the proper coverage on this play? TwoBits Softball 20 Mon Apr 04, 2005 08:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1