 
			
				Sun Apr 27, 2008, 02:00pm
			
			
			
		  
	 | 
	
		
		
		
			
			| 
				
				 Official Forum Member 
				
				
			 | 
			  | 
			
				
					Join Date: Aug 2000 
					Location: Mississippi 
					
					
						Posts: 1,772
					 
					
					
					
					
					     
				 
			 | 
		 
		 
		
	 | 
	
	
		
	
		
		
		
		
			
			
	Quote: 
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by mbyron
					
				 
				Everyone's familiar with the umpire interference (UI) where the BU in the infield gets hit by a batted ball which an infielder could have a play on. We kill it, award BR 1B, and other runners return unless forced. 
 
But there's another kind of UI: when PU interferes with F2's attempt to retire a runner who's stealing, we kill it and send the runner back. 
 
Had a situation last weekend that, I now think, probably should have been UI. I was BU. 
 
R2 stealing, outs don't matter. F2 comes up, steps on umpire's foot, throw sails into LF. (This is the same play I posted in another thread, where F5 landed on the runner and I called OBS, but that's another story.) 
 
As we discussed the call I had made on F5, my partner mentioned that the throw was so bad because F2 had stepped on his foot. I asked him whether that wasn't UI (and explained the rule to him). He decided not to call it, since he hadn't moved: F2 had simply put his foot in the wrong place.  
 
This was clearly his call, and he understood the rule, so I didn't argue with him. If I had been PU, I probably would have ruled UI on myself, on the grounds that, even if I'm in my usual position, F2 should have an unhindered play on the runner stealing.  
 
I don't know the enforcement of this rule, and don't have the MLBUM. I would appreciate any guidance. 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 If the umpire thinks he caused the bad throw then call it.  I don't think I would call it unless I really thought I had caused the interference. 
 
If F2 moves back into me, then he probably is not going to get the call, but that's not going to happen in real baseball.
 
I get so far behind the F2 that's not a problem anymore.
 
Thanks 
David
		  
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |