The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Great State of North Carolina
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
From J/R: R2, one out. The batter hits a pop fly to shallow right-center field. Misplayed, the ball drops amidst three fielders. R2 is unable to advance and has returned to second. The batter-runner rounds first agressively (c) and is obstructed, but continues to advance to second without hesitation. He is able to reach second, and jointly occupies it with R2, when both runners are tagged: the batter-runner (following runner) is out. He is required to realize that R2 has not advanced. The obstruction does not give him license to ignore the actions of his teammate while advancing.
I stand corrected.. Thx DG
__________________
Warren
www.umpire-empire.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Thank you for your responses.

Regarding the 2nd question, my confusion with Type B obstruction is wether to call time when the play occurs at home or let the play continue. If I understand, I would only call time if the runner was out. If the runner is safe, let the play continue without reference to obstruction.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 09:23pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emperor Ump
I stand corrected.. Thx DG
I think we would have a different situation if the batter-runner were tagged out trying to reach 2B if the umpire has decided to protect him to 2B due to the obstruction. But in this case both runners were on 2b.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
I think we would have a different situation if the batter-runner were tagged out trying to reach 2B if the umpire has decided to protect him to 2B due to the obstruction. But in this case both runners were on 2b.
Exactly the options we have on Type B - what would have happened absent the obstruction.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Couple of questions GFD406 Football 19 Thu May 03, 2007 03:26pm
A couple of questions DC_Ref12 Basketball 17 Tue Apr 24, 2007 02:22am
Couple of Questions gostars Basketball 3 Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:22pm
Couple Questions Patsfan2431 Football 3 Sun Sep 05, 2004 06:35pm
Many thanks and a couple questions. OfficialFan Basketball 7 Sun Jan 25, 2004 01:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1