![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Scratch that. I know you're wrong on both of these. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Looked briefly for Fed variance, if there is one someone can post it. But sometimes common sense does prevail. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Troll alert.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And I do agree with his assessment. Again answer why you would reward a player for missing a base? This play at first base is a little different, as this is the base you can over run. I will agree that the close play discussed (where runner passed base without touching, and ball then being caught by F3 and on base) is a grey area, but again as he explained it, who touched the base first? If this is wrong then post verification. Just relating what I was told. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
BigGuy,
Agree with everything you say, EXCEPT.... On a play at the plate, if the runner is "forced" to home, I think the proper mechanic is to signal "SAFE!" - as you would at the play at first. If he is NOT forced (and must himself be tagged), then I believe the proper mechanic is to make no signal. So, it's not that it's at home, it whether or not he must be tagged. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
I will point out situation 1 in the BRD, simply because it seems to relate. EXCEPT: If the action is continuing and the tagged base is a "force" base, the defense makes the appeal merely be "stepping on the missed base".
This appears to be unique to FED, and thus the entry in BRD. And your minor league guy appears to be interpreting opposite from OBR, so be careful who you listen to. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Professional umpires are trained to render the "safe" signal and voice declaration at first base even though the batter-runner missed the base but is considered past the base when the tag of first base is made. This becomes an appeal play and the batter-runner would subsequently be called out for failure to properly touch the base. This is the proper mechanical procedure at all bases involving force plays. On plays which require a tag, professional umpires are instructed to make no call until the runner legally touches the base or the runner is tagged before legally touching the base. Tim. |
|
|||
|
Fed rule?
Can someone point me to the fed rule or interp on this play? I was overruled on this topic during a mechanics clinic recently and couldn't find anything in the rule or case book to support my argument.
Thanks
__________________
Larry Sansevere SUA, NJFOA & NJWOA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
My first post was this was unique to FED and FMSANS specifically asked for FED case play, which I provided and you disagreed with, stating an OBR interpretation. I agree with you on OBR, but you disagreed with a FED case play, and cited OBR interp. Last edited by DG; Fri Mar 21, 2008 at 10:08pm. |
|
|||
|
How much training?
Quote:
Is it training or experience that establishes this mechanic? I've never seen it at Little League! Is there a proper use on the field, or only in the training class?
__________________
-LilLeaguer |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
GB |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2nd Base tagged with glove while hole ball in hand | timharris | Baseball | 14 | Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:43pm |
| Overrunning 1B | mrm21711 | Baseball | 16 | Fri Jun 22, 2007 01:52pm |
| Tagged on a force out | CoachTom | Baseball | 18 | Thu May 31, 2007 11:38am |
| Is a Runner that is tagged going to first.. | cshs81 | Baseball | 10 | Wed Apr 18, 2007 09:22pm |
| Missed first base and then tagged | GrizzlyUmp14 | Baseball | 33 | Tue Jun 27, 2006 07:45pm |