The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member

Ump Throws Partner Under Bus

Just to preface, I coach a HS V baseball team and I also referee basketball at the JC and HS levels. I have some very limited experience as an umpire, but my question is regarding something that happened in a game that I coached.

At the end of the 4th inning there was a time play with BR trying to get to 3rd and R1 trying to score. PU came out to call the play at 3rd and had limited coverage of whether the run actually scored. They got the play right and scored the run as BR was thrown out at 3rd, and there was no argument. We got the benefit of the call with the run scoring. Between innings, PU comes to our dugout to verify the score and comments, "If my partner knew what he was doing, I would have been able to tell for sure that the run scored." On another play when we had a runner caught stealing at 2nd and BU made the call, PU apparantly made eye contact with one of our coaches and rolled his eyes at the call. My question is, as a coach, should I report this to the assignor, tell another respected umpire or let it go. As a basketball ref, I'd be mad as hell if this happened in a basketball game.
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member

As a coach who officiates...

you've been on both sides of the lines. There's no excuse, or explanation for that type of display.

I'd say report the conduct to the assignor, and let the chips fall where they may.

AR
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

SMEngmann,

While I agree with Rags that the umpire's behavior in throwing his partner under the bus was reprehensible, as someone who coached for 13 years prior to umpiring, I'm not sure I'd "do" anything about it if I were you.