![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I find myself in agreement with Tim and etn_ump.
If the pitcher throws a pitch in the batter's box, the batter is getting ALL the "benefit of the doubt". As JJ suggests, it's at least theoretically possible that a batter could do something that would "keep him in the box" - but that would be the exception rather than the rule. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. Last edited by UmpJM; Sat Mar 08, 2008 at 08:10pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You will know it when player does not attempt to avoid the pitch, so will everyone else in the park. Umpire the game, don't make it too difficult. I'm sure FED has a reason for the change, probably because umpires were not calling the obvious ones. Thansk David |
|
|||
|
I will add this for newer umpires: if you have ANY doubt whatever about whether to award 1B, you should award the base. Everyone expects HBP to go to 1B, and you've to to sell the call to make him stay. The expected call is not always the right one, but you'd better be sure you're right.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"No, back in the box!" When I played, it was no big deal to let a pitch slide an inch or so off your jersey, under the arm, w/e. MOF, it was a guage of how we were reading pitches and a "in your face" to the pitcher who might be trying to intimidate. Level of ball dictates how you handle HBP but at the higher levels, veryone knows what's happening and if you get ajackass trying to play possum with HBP, put his pssarse back in thebox. Kudos to Interested Dump who taught me this,
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day."
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|