![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Besides, the ball didn't arrive there accoring to the OP. It wasn't caught. The fielder did not have possession of the ball at any time. What is HTBT for me is seeing whether or not access to the plate was denied.
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Sat Mar 08, 2008 at 01:08pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
However, the OP said the fielder was 4' up the line. Since the fielder never had possession, he's not entitled to be in the baseline. (There's a new case play on that, involving F2, but the principle is the same.) I think that might shade "HTBT" toward obstruction, though it's not decisive.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Consider this NHFS: "The second situation is one in which the fielder is in the base path without the ball, but the ball is in motion and a play is probable. Previously, this action would have been legal in all circumstances. Under the new rule this action is only legal if the fielder provides the runner access to the base." The so-called train wreck in the POE according what we received from FED must include both players and the ball arriving at the same time so that the fielder has possession of the ball at the time of collision. A fielder cannot use a bad throw or a bad fielding attempt for an excuse for a "train wreck."
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Sat Mar 08, 2008 at 02:21pm. |
|
|||
Garth, correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't the fielder have a right to catch a thrown ball in the baseline? In this case, he clearly did not block the plate as the runner had a opportunity to go around him and touch. Runner stayed in the base path and thus was a train wreck.
|
|
|||
Quote:
According to FED, that is not access. You are putting a requirement on the runner that gives the fielder an advantage. The fielder may not bock access without the ball. Have you attended the FED clinic this year? This was all covered in detail. I have access to the slides and the script if you haven't attended. Let me know. I'm off to evaluate some new and transfer umpires right now. I'll check back later.
__________________
GB |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
The right call or the correct call? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |