The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Forest,

I don't believe so. In regard to Home, the MLBUM is quite explicit that if the runner is attempting to return to home (rather than heading to the dugout) he must be tagged for a properly constituted appeal:

Quote:
5.3 RUNNER MISSES HOME PLATE

Should a runner, in scoring, fail to touch home plate and continue on his way to the bench (making no effort to return), he may be put out by the fielder touching home plate and appealing to the umpire for a decision. However, this rule applies only where a runner is on his way to the bench and the catcher would be required to chase the runner. It does not apply to the ordinary play where the runner misses the plate and then immediately makes an effort to touch the plate before being tagged. In that case, the runner must be tagged. In such cases, base path rules still apply to the runner (i.e., he may not run more than three feet from the "baseline" between him and home plate).
J/R is the only source that I have found that specifically addresses Illini_Ref's posed sitch (B/R scrambling back to 1B after missing it) and it is quite specific in stating that the runner (not the base) must be tagged in order to uphold the appeal.

Since I can't find anything that contradicts this interpretation, and the logic strikes me as similar to that in the MLBUM regarding a runner missing home, I'm inclined to accept the interpretation as valid.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Fed. and NCAA clearly states you can tag the base for the appeal.
Fed. pg.49 art.5 &penalty
ncaa pg. 97 rule 6 a 3
and im sure pro would not make you tag a runner on a force play!!!
you would simply smile at the umpire step on the base with the baseball in hand and state he missed the base mr umpire sir. and your response would be, why yes young man you are correct and the idiot is out!!!

this is an appeal on a missed force play
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
thinking about arguing this makes my head hurt.
__________________
"To dee chowers!!"

Last edited by bobbybanaduck; Fri Feb 15, 2008 at 10:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2008, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
That play occurred right in from of me a few years ago at a Phillies' game. B1 beat the throw but missed the bag and overran down the RF line. Safe. F3 then stepped on 1B and held the ball up for the umpire to see. (I couldn't tell for certain if F3 actually said anything.) No call. F3 wiggled the ball to get the ump's attention again. No call. F3 tagged the runner returning to 1B. Out.

The way have understood it for a long time, if the runner is in the vicinity and returning, it's a tag play.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 11:32am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I'm pretty sure FED has a pretty brainless appeal rule...way different from FED...the one above is correct for OBR...to be safe...just don't make a call until the kid tags him...not many will simply stand there with their foot on 1B and not do anything else if no call is made.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 24, 2008, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
Relaxed, unrelaxed, I hate these terms, leaves to much chance of missing those outs we so dearly desire.

From J/R: For assistance in defining and identifying appeals, action is described herein as "relaxed" or "unrelaxed." In relaxed action the runner (whose action is being appealed) is inactive; he is standing on another base, or is well removed from the base at which the appeal is being made. In unrelaxed action the runner (whose action is being appealed) is trying to scramble to a base and the ball is in, or approaching, the vicinity.

Anytime I read something that says "for assistance in defining and identifying" that's all I'll use it for, assistance, not gospel, etched in stone fact.

EXAMPLES (from J/R)
Ex: 1. Missed base appeal of 1st (overrun) or home, relaxed action: A runner is advancing to first or home and runs by the base, missing it, and continues running for several steps, ignoring the fact that he missed the base. The fielder, now in possession of the ball, shows the ball to the umpire and steps on the base, claiming the runner missed it: action is relaxed, so this is an appeal, and the runner is out.

My question/concern/comment; I would not deny this appeal of touching the base, even when the runner from "several steps beyond" or "well removed", suddenly realizes, is told by coach or teammate, to touch. Though the runner would indeed be attempting to scramble back. He missed it, it was appealed, out.

I would not make the catcher; 1. chase the runner nor 2. await his arrival to be tagged. For example; if the appeal by touching the base is recognized and F2 is now able to catch say the BR going into 2nd, hey, that's 2 good things. If I deny this appeal, F2 say's huh, and delays his throw to retire the BR at 2nd, I've just put the screws to the D twice, and rewarded the O for their mistake, uh, uh, not on my watch..

So what is relaxed really? I gotta say, if the runner is doing anything other than scrambling back (returning to touch) "and" has a chance to touch before, either an appeal or a tag can be applied, that's unrelaxed. If the runner has not yet come to a stop (non-slide) after overrunnning, I'd say he's not "returning" and allow the appeal, regardless of what the runners intentions are. Ex. F2 pukes up a throw from F8 in an attempt to retire the scoring runner, the ball rolls towards the mound 8', F2 secures the ball and wheels back for a tag attempt on the runner, the tag misses the runner who missed the plate as he passed it at full tilt. As the runner now several steps beyond is attempting to stop his momentum and return, F2 steps on the plate and say's "he missed it sir". Ring him up IMO, especially if it's a sincere "Sir."

How far do we go? What is several steps beyond or well removed, are these super tiny baby steps or long Impala strides? What is several, more than 1, 5, 10? What is "well removed?" If the D has time to step on and state the appeal, in a relaxed fashion, I'd say that's well removed.

J/R Example: (chopped short a bit.)
Ground ball to SS, BR beats the throw to F3, is past 1B and has missed the base, the umpire signals safe and the F3 steps on the base and appeals to the umpire that the BR failed to touch first. The BR is out on the appeal.

This ex. has no comment on what the BR is doing, he's probably not even stopped his momentum yet, or even if he has, he's probably several steps beyond, so the D would have to wait or chase, for the tag. Meanwhile R2 is rounding 3rd and threatning to score, I won't make the D wait, nor chase, and possibly allow the runner from 3rd to score.

In closing (yeah I know, finally) I'd go as far as saying that the only time action is unrelaxed is:
Rule 7.08(k) Comment: It does not apply to the ordinary play where the runner misses the plate and then immediately makes an effort to touch the plate before being tagged. In that case, runner must be tagged.

This is what I can relate too. F2 missed the tag, R missed the plate, they both know and are trying to correct their mistakes. But, should the runner in an attempt to avoid the ensuing tag, take a step other than back to the plate, or from our fellow "Wrestling officials" fail to move forward, in a stalling tactic, I'd allow the appeal, as I can construe these manuevers as not "returning"....
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1