The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 14, 2008, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 112
Casebook 8.3.2 Situation C
F2 is in the path between third base and home plate while waiting to recieve a thrown ball.R1 advances from third and runs into the catcher,after which R1 is tagged out.

Ruling: Obstruction.F2 can not be in the base path without the ball is possession,nor can he be in the base path waiting for a ball to arrive without giving the runner some access to home plate

8.3.2 Sit G
F1 attempts to pick off R1 at first base. As F3 is about to recieve the throw,he drops one knee and a)blocks the entire base prior to pocessing the ball or b)blocks part of the base prior to pocessing the ball or c)blocks the entire base while being in possesion if the ball

Ruling:
Obstruction in (a) legal in (b) and (c)

8.3.2 Sit I
R1 is attempting to score from third and F8 throws the ball to F2.F2 is four or five feet down the line between home and third,but is not actually able to catch the ball in order to make the tag. R1 rather than running into F2 slides behind F2 into foul territory and then touches home plate with his hand After R1 slides,F2 catches the ball and attempts t otag R1 but misses. The coach of the offensive team coaching third claims that obstruction should have been called even though there was no contact.

Ruling: Obstrction. Contact does not have to occur for obstruction to be ruled.F2 cannot be in the the baseline without the ball if it is not in motion and a probable play is not going to occur,nor can he be in the basline without giving the runner access to home plate.

8.3.2 Sit K

F6 fields a ground ball and throws to F3 in attempt to retire B1 at first.The ball is thrown wide.As F3 lunges towards the ball,F3 collides with B1,knocking him to the ground prior to possessing the ball (a)while the runner is short of first base (b) after the runner has contacted first base.

Ruling:
Obstruction in (a) Legal in (b)

8.3.2 Sit L
R1 is advancing on the pitch and F6 drops to a knee while taking the throw,partially blocking the inside edge of the base.R1 slides to the inside edge of the base contacts F6 knee and then is tagged out.The head coach of team F argues this should be called obstruction.

Ruling:
This is not obstruction as F6 did provide access to part of second base,even though it is was not the part of the base R1 wanted or believed was most advantageous
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction again - Dinger Softball 10 Tue Jul 05, 2005 01:14pm
Obstruction or Nothing Stair-Climber Softball 1 Mon May 09, 2005 01:35pm
obstruction yankeesfan Baseball 10 Sun May 08, 2005 07:12am
ASA obstruction David Emerling Softball 39 Tue May 20, 2003 10:00am
More obstruction Andy Softball 5 Wed Apr 23, 2003 03:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1