The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 12:19pm
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08
"Tie goes to the runner...you otta know that one by now blue!"
So what's wrong with that statement? Tie does go to the runner. See FED 8.4.1f. By definition the fielder must make the play on the runner/batter-runner BEFORE they reach the respective base. A tie implies the same time. Of course there are those who say a tie isn't possible. They are two mutually exclusive events and can occur at the same time.

f. after a dropped third strike (see 8-4-1e) or a fair hit, if the ball held by any fielder touches the batter before the batter touches first base; or if any fielder, while holding the ball in his grasp, touches first base or touches first base with the ball before the batter-runner touches first base:
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
So what's wrong with that statement? Tie does go to the runner. See FED 8.4.1f. By definition the fielder must make the play on the runner/batter-runner BEFORE they reach the respective base. A tie implies the same time. Of course there are those who say a tie isn't possible. They are two mutually exclusive events and can occur at the same time.

f. after a dropped third strike (see 8-4-1e) or a fair hit, if the ball held by any fielder touches the batter before the batter touches first base; or if any fielder, while holding the ball in his grasp, touches first base or touches first base with the ball before the batter-runner touches first base:
The problem is that you didn't read 8.4.2


Art. 2... Any runner is out when he:

i. does not retouch his base before a fielder tags him out or holds the ball while touching such base after any situation (8-2-1, 2-3 and 4). Umpire may also call him out at end of playing action upon proper and successful appeal. Also, it is not necessary for runner to retouch his base after a foul tip (2-16-2); or

j. fails to reach the next base before a fielder either tags the runner out or holds the ball while touching such base, after runner has been forced from the base he occupied because the batter became a runner (with ball in play) when other runners were on first base, or on first and second, or on first, second and third. There shall be no accidental appeals on a force play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
The problem is that you didn't read 8.4.2


Art. 2... Any runner is out when he:

i. does not retouch his base before a fielder tags him out or holds the ball while touching such base after any situation (8-2-1, 2-3 and 4). Umpire may also call him out at end of playing action upon proper and successful appeal. Also, it is not necessary for runner to retouch his base after a foul tip (2-16-2); or

j. fails to reach the next base before a fielder either tags the runner out or holds the ball while touching such base, after runner has been forced from the base he occupied because the batter became a runner (with ball in play) when other runners were on first base, or on first and second, or on first, second and third. There shall be no accidental appeals on a force play.
Or how about 8.2.8: A runner acquires the right to the proper unoccupied base if he touches it before he is out (tie goes to the fielder).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
"call it both ways"

After giving this matter considerable thought, prompted by many of the posted responses, I will now deal differently with these words. Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 05:32pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
So what's wrong with that statement? Tie does go to the runner. See FED 8.4.1f. By definition the fielder must make the play on the runner/batter-runner BEFORE they reach the respective base. A tie implies the same time. Of course there are those who say a tie isn't possible. They are two mutually exclusive events and can occur at the same time.

f. after a dropped third strike (see 8-4-1e) or a fair hit, if the ball held by any fielder touches the batter before the batter touches first base; or if any fielder, while holding the ball in his grasp, touches first base or touches first base with the ball before the batter-runner touches first base:
There are not ties, the runner is either safe or the runner is out. When the crowd "sees" a tie...many, many, times it's an out, because it's not really a tie. I think you might just be trying to stir the pot though...so I'm only partially biting.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Annoying catcher njdevs00cup Baseball 13 Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:15am
Help Wanted: Annoying Mr. Grammar Guy Back In The Saddle Basketball 14 Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:02pm
Annoying Rat umpire99 Baseball 13 Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:41pm
Now I think I've heard everything umpduck11 Baseball 21 Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:30am
All right, all right, I've heard enough... Dan_ref Basketball 41 Sat Jun 01, 2002 10:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1