The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 10:38am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison
On a legal catch, can a foot be touching out of bounds (OOB)?
I have always heard this one foot in and one foot out from a lot of people but I have always thought that no foot can be touching OOB and still have a legal catch.
Thanks,
Robt
This is NOT a legal catch in NCAA. No "straddling" the line there. You must make the catch before you step into (or touch) dead ball territory with either foot.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 18, 2008, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
A careful reading of FED also indicates that a player can continually hop on one foot way into DBT, make a catch, hop back on that same foot, and back into the field, totally legally.

Unless the clarificiation that Tim C speaks off clarifies this (I do not have 2008 casebook in front of me).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 22, 2008, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
A careful reading of FED also indicates that a player can continually hop on one foot way into DBT, make a catch, hop back on that same foot, and back into the field, totally legally.

Unless the clarificiation that Tim C speaks off clarifies this (I do not have 2008 casebook in front of me).
I'd like to see the rule on this.......
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 22, 2008, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by archangel
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
A careful reading of FED also indicates that a player can continually hop on one foot way into DBT, make a catch, hop back on that same foot, and back into the field, totally legally.

Unless the clarificiation that Tim C speaks off clarifies this (I do not have 2008 casebook in front of me).
I'd like to see the rule on this.......
I'm guessing that he is taking the phrase "steps into dead ball territory with both feet" to the extreme. Interpreting that as long as he only steps in DB territory with one foot and keeps the other one in the air he is still considered to be on live ball territory.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 02:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Hey, I never said I'd call it, but as some say, words have meanings...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
foot out of the box Little Jimmy Softball 6 Sun Aug 03, 2003 06:09pm
foot within 24"plate DaveASA/FED Softball 5 Fri May 30, 2003 09:04am
One foot OOB... Dan_ref Basketball 6 Fri May 09, 2003 03:53pm
B with foot OOB rainmaker Basketball 3 Thu Feb 15, 2001 02:27pm
One foot or Two Art N Basketball 2 Tue Feb 22, 2000 10:18am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1