The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 11:24pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
Call the balk. Accept the protest. It's your ASZ on the line. Go ahead and see what the protest committee tells you and bet your last paycheck on it too.
Last time I looked at a map, San Antonio is not annexed from the state of Texas. Texas does not allow protests in FED.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2008, 12:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Talking non-sequitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
Last time I looked at a map, San Antonio is not annexed from the state of Texas. Texas does not allow protests in FED.
Like saying Texas doesn't allow bad calls. Bad calls can result in negative outcomes for either coach or umpire. Start a new thread and tell us how UIL and TASO handle it {bad calls, ejections, protests}. They will always be good and bad calls, good and bad disputes about those calls, good and bad ejections, and good or bad repercussions to follow.

Last edited by SAump; Fri Jan 18, 2008 at 11:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2008, 01:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
'jm

I think what Paronto is really focusing in on is that a pitcher that does a jab step has never disengaged and that cannot be an argument for a balk.

I also beleive that Paronto clearly has stated that the jab step is perfectly legal.

Now to take this to NFHS rules.

We know on the fake to third and throw to first that it is clearly written that F1 must "break contact with the pitcher's plate" before throwing to first. This ALSO MEANS that he has step forward of the pitcher's plate just like in a jab step.

It is now clear too me that my college cohorts were a little cross threaded and I will share all this with them.

It appears perfectly clear to me now that the jab step is legal under all codes.

What we find often in NFHS rules is that change at the practical level happens far ahead of the written word.

Thank you to everyone for your input.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2008, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 126
Could it be possibe that as long as the "jab step" takes place within (OK, does that mean completely within?...) the 18 inces of the pitcher's plate, the pitcher is still considered engaged (to the rubber) and therefore he has executed a legal move?

Just a thought.

D

(sorry, 1 ince = 0.75 inches)

Last edited by D-Man; Sun Jan 13, 2008 at 08:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 12, 2008, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Man
Could it be possibe that as long as the "jab step" takes place within (OK, does that mean completely within?...) the 18 inces of the pitcher's plate, the pitcher is still considered engaged (to the rubber) and therefore he has executed a legal move?

Just a thought.

D
No. There is no requirement for the pivot foot to remain within the width of the rubber during a jump turn, only that F1 step towards 1st while throwing there.

F1 is engaged during both the jump turn and jab step. The question is whether the pivot foot can move first (jab step), rather than simultaneous with the free foot (jump turn).

BTW, the rubber is 24" wide.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2008, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
No. There is no requirement for the pivot foot to remain within the width of the rubber during a jump turn, only that F1 step towards 1st while throwing there.

F1 is engaged during both the jump turn and jab step. The question is whether the pivot foot can move first (jab step), rather than simultaneous with the free foot (jump turn).

BTW, the rubber is 24" wide.
I understand it's not part of the rule. Maybe, someday, the rule writers will need a rationale as to why they can allow a move like this. I am merely offering them a plausible explanation for possible future inclusion.

I don't see any unfair deception here. If the pivot foot moves, R1 gets back. F1 isn't allowed to throw before the (free foot) step in either the jump turn or jab step.

Jicecone, where did you move to???

D
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2008, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Man
I understand it's not part of the rule. Maybe, someday, the rule writers will need a rationale as to why they can allow a move like this. I am merely offering them a plausible explanation for possible future inclusion.

I don't see any unfair deception here. If the pivot foot moves, R1 gets back. F1 isn't allowed to throw before the (free foot) step in either the jump turn or jab step.

Jicecone, where did you move to???

D
Funny you ask, I spent almost 2 yrs in New Orleans on the Hurrican Katrina cleanup and then went upstate NY for a Wind Energy project that was suppose to last 3 yr but lasted 6 mos. I was in NO this past week for a large USACOE project and will know by wed where I am going to end up. Maybe back south. Either way I am very anxious to get back officiating. Thanks

Last edited by jicecone; Sun Jan 13, 2008 at 10:09am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 01:27am
rei
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
I think what Paronto is really focusing in on is that a pitcher that does a jab step has never disengaged and that cannot be an argument for a balk.

I also beleive that Paronto clearly has stated that the jab step is perfectly legal.

Now to take this to NFHS rules.

We know on the fake to third and throw to first that it is clearly written that F1 must "break contact with the pitcher's plate" before throwing to first. This ALSO MEANS that he has step forward of the pitcher's plate just like in a jab step.

It is now clear too me that my college cohorts were a little cross threaded and I will share all this with them.

It appears perfectly clear to me now that the jab step is legal under all codes.

What we find often in NFHS rules is that change at the practical level happens far ahead of the written word.

Thank you to everyone for your input.

Regards,
I will still balk the move you described.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 01:32am
rei
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by rei
I will still balk the move you described.
But, this is mostly a mute point really. In the approximately 2200 baseball games I have umpired, I have never seen this move done.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by rei
But, this is mostly a mute point really. In the approximately 2200 baseball games I have umpired, I have never seen this move done.
What!?

It seems likely, then, that the move that you are envisioning in your mind's eye is not the move commonly referred to as the "jab step".

I won't go so far as to say it's the most common move by a RH pitcher, but it's certainly in the top 3. So, it's extremely unlikley that you wouldn't have seen it (and seen it many times) in your 2200 games.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Well,

"But, this is mostly a mute point really. In the approximately 2200 baseball games I have umpired, I have never seen this move done."

I can't speak for your games but it is not a MOOT point in my games. It actually happens all the time. I am only at about 4,000 games and have seen it a whole lot lately.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 12:09pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Where do people get "mute" point from anyway? Never did understand that one.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
Hear no evil, see no evil,
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by rei
But, this is mostly a mute point really. In the approximately 2200 baseball games I have umpired, I have never seen this move done.
I know you've seen this. It's one of the most common moves. Think of a jump turn with bad timing.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
I don't know about mute, but I was once in a heated 'discussion' with the coach from the California School for the Deaf. My quandry, do I EJ the coach or his interpreter?
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Men of few words? just another ref Basketball 3 Fri Nov 30, 2007 02:07pm
NFL Network: In Their Own Words OverAndBack Football 4 Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:40am
short words RUBIERA Basketball 10 Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1