![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]()
rei,
The NCAA and NFHS rule books (not to mention the OBR) do not say anything about the "Jab Step" move. The J/R quote above is from the "rule Differences Edition", which diligently notes differences between OBR and NCAA. There is no difference noted. This is the most authoritative opinion I have been able to find on the subject. Have you got anything other than your (mistaken) interpretation that it is illegal? JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]()
rei,
Been there, done that. Of course, reviewing the OBR balk rules could also lead one to the erroneous conclusion that a "jab step" move is illegal. BTW, are you in Tee's association? JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, I know Tim well enough. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't not give a lick how the "pro's" interpret the rule. I umpire no games that play under OBR rules. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 6, ART3: "During these preliminary motions and during the set position until a delivery motion occurs, the pitcher may turn on his pivot footor lift it in a jump turn to step with the non-pivot foot toward a base while throwing or feinting as outlinned in 6-2-4 and 2-28-5, or he may lift his pivot foot in a step backward off the pitcher's plate. I have been told time and time again that the Fed rules are mostly literal concerning what a pitcher may do. Thus, the rule book clearly explains what the pitcher may do with his pivot foot, and stepping towards 3rd with it IS NOT one of them. With all that in mind. I will balk a pitcher who does this move until I see something in the NFHS rule book that explains that the pitcher, while on the rubber in the set position, can step towards 3rd base with the pivot foot. Sue me if you can add that move to the simple rule above! Again, I could care less what they are doing in the pro game. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Kidding, right?
Quote:
The Maddux jab step is a very exaggerated jump turn. You telling me that you honestly believe that a jump turn is simultaneously executed with both feet from beginnning to end. OOO, where is that pivot foot suppose to land, closer to 1B? What happens if he lands on his free foot before his pivot foot, you gonna balk that too? Are you gonna let the guy release the pickoff throw before his feet return to the ground too? That's a balk. Are you gonna let him double "360" windup and slingshot his throw to 1B? That's a balk. The argument about how clear the rulebook is about the move of the pivot foot towards 3B is weak. In my best judgment of Rule 6, ART 3, the jab step is a jump turn step most of the time. Last edited by SAump; Fri Jan 18, 2008 at 11:45pm. |
|
|||
Hmmm . . .
This is a great conversation.
Yes, I know Rei quite well. We work together once or twice a year. Rei also was the plate umpire for the State Championship game of Oregon's largest school classification this past spring. Rei is also a member of the college association and this is where this discussion started. I was with three members of the college group Wednesday night and our conversation came around to this specific issue. One of the leading college umpires in this small group said that he would balk the "jab step" EVERY TIME! Now Rei chimes in with the same feeling. This is why I asked the question and am totally confused. (Note: I have no idea what SAUmp is even saying in his "rising fastball" post -- facts are still facts, no matter what those words mean.) Regards, |
|
|||
![]()
Tim,
The reason I found Mr. Paronto's "3rd to 1st move" analogy so off point as a rationale for supporting the legality of the jab step move under FED rules is twofold. First, it doesn't address in any way the concern expressed by those who believe the move should be balked. Namely, that the pivot foot comes off the rubber before the free foot starts a step to the base. A pitcher's pivot foot always comes off the rubber when he delivers a pitch, throws a pick-off, or makes a (legal) feint to a base. Once he completes the legal pitch/throw/feint he is no longer "in contact" and is no longer constrained by the rules that constrain an "in contact" pitcher. So, I don't think that those who (erroneously) believe that the jab step should be balked think that a pitcher's pivot foot can't leave the rubber to the "front side" on a pick-off - they just think it can't be the first part of the move. Second, it's an especially unconvincing argument in the context of FED rules because the FED rule makers, in yet another display of the "rugged individualism" for which they are known, explicitly allow the pitcher to remain in contact with the rubber on the third to first move. (Ref.: FED 6.2.4c). Personally, I think the jab step move is legal because it does not violate the letter of the rules and because it provides the defense with no unintended advantage. Since the only thing a RHP can (legally) do after making a jab step towards 3B is throw a pick-off to 1B, and only after subsequently making a legal step with his free foot, the runner's "rights" in having some forewarning (of an impending pick-off throw) intended by the rules are properly served. Nonetheless, good discussion. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. Last edited by UmpJM; Sat Jan 12, 2008 at 11:39pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Men of few words? | just another ref | Basketball | 3 | Fri Nov 30, 2007 02:07pm |
NFL Network: In Their Own Words | OverAndBack | Football | 4 | Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:40am |
short words | RUBIERA | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:12am |