The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 15, 2007, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
Offensive coach said that the only base they could touch to get him out was first

That's true for leaving 1B too soon, not for the miss at 2B.

I replied they can touch any base previous to where the runner was at that time (i.e. if the ball beat him to 2nd, if he was running correctly in reverse, he's still be out).

The appeal of leaving too soon must be at 1B, regardless of where the runner is. But even the MLB umps blew that one a few years ago, and (because the returning running was between 2B and 3B) allowed an appeal at 2B for leaving 1B too soon.

Right Bob, I missed that part.

7.10
Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when --
(a) After a fly ball is caught, he fails to retouch his original base before he or his original base is tagged;
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miss a base in reverse Yeggman Softball 4 Wed Jun 21, 2006 08:51pm
running bases in reverse order hey blue Softball 7 Mon Jul 15, 2002 11:50am
Can you have a reverse chop block in HS?? Zeke5 Football 4 Fri Aug 10, 2001 08:08pm
Can a split end (on the LOS) run a reverse? filknz Football 5 Sat Jul 07, 2001 01:49pm
To reverse or not Carson256 Basketball 6 Fri Jan 28, 2000 10:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1