The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 88
Question Can they do this?

I was calling a FED game last night where the coach of the defensive team requested time out and came to the mound to talk to his infielders. As he approached the mound, he threw a ball to his F5 who played catch with F6 as the coach talked with the pitcher on the mound. I told him he could not do that. He stopped without questioning me, but after the game, I decided to look this up to be sure. I cannot find anything anywhere that does not allow this. Any help?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Virgin Gorda
Posts: 228
If there is a rule that prohibits, I am unaware of it. Personally, I am going to ask for the players to stop.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interested Ump
If there is a rule that prohibits, I am unaware of it. Personally, I am going to ask for the players to stop.
Why ... who cares what they do during their allowed time? As long as no one's pitching to a catcher, and they don't delay the game any more than a normal conference would because of their actions, it's none of my business.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Virgin Gorda
Posts: 228
I do, get over it. Go to work, I am. Do you?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,182
Specifically allowed in NCAA as long as both players are already in the game.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interested Ump
I do, get over it. Go to work, I am. Do you?
You seem to be motivated to pick a fight with me... I'm not taking the bait.

Just wondering why it would bother you enough that you'd feel the need to make up rules to justify your need to prove that you're in charge.

It's a non issue, and not against the rules at all.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 226
its a issue when fit-yet-interested ump needs to stack uphis post count
__________________
It's sad when you're at a baseball game and realize that you'll never have the money, status or talent that the guys on the field take for granted. And it gets even worse when the grounds crew gives way to the players.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire99
I cannot find anything anywhere that does not allow this. Any help?
Perhaps you couldn't find it because it isn't there.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire99
I was calling a FED game last night where the coach of the defensive team requested time out and came to the mound to talk to his infielders. As he approached the mound, he threw a ball to his F5 who played catch with F6 as the coach talked with the pitcher on the mound. I told him he could not do that. He stopped without questioning me, but after the game, I decided to look this up to be sure. I cannot find anything anywhere that does not allow this. Any help?
Yes, they can do this as long as they do not delay the game.

There was a time that some FED clinicians tried to sell prohibiting it as a "safety" concern. One told me that there should only be one ball on the field. When I pointed out to him that we had no concern of such safety issues when the infielders warmed up at the beginning of each half inning, the response he could come up with was: "that's different, that's traditional."

Bottom line, it's legal. Only an OOO would try to stop it.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire99
I was calling a FED game last night where the coach of the defensive team requested time out and came to the mound to talk to his infielders. As he approached the mound, he threw a ball to his F5 who played catch with F6 as the coach talked with the pitcher on the mound. I told him he could not do that. He stopped without questioning me, but after the game, I decided to look this up to be sure. I cannot find anything anywhere that does not allow this. Any help?
From the FED 2006 Interpretations:
SITUATION 10: Coach of Team A requests and is granted time for a defensive charged conference. As he goes to the mound to talk with his pitcher, he tosses a ball to his third baseman and tells him to begin warming up with his shortstop in case he is needed to pitch. The coach leaves the mound without removing the pitcher. RULING: This is not allowed. A charged conference permits a coach or his non-playing representative to confer with a defensive player or players but does not permit any warm-up pitches by a player who is not the pitcher. (3-4-1)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Virgin Gorda
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue37
From the FED 2006 Interpretations:
SITUATION 10: Coach of Team A requests and is granted time for a defensive charged conference. As he goes to the mound to talk with his pitcher, he tosses a ball to his third baseman and tells him to begin warming up with his shortstop in case he is needed to pitch. The coach leaves the mound without removing the pitcher. RULING: This is not allowed. A charged conference permits a coach or his non-playing representative to confer with a defensive player or players but does not permit any warm-up pitches by a player who is not the pitcher. (3-4-1)
I wish they hadn't inserted the part about bold above in there.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interested Ump
I wish they hadn't inserted the part about bold above in there.
Why not ... the ruling was supposed to specifically address someone warming up as a pitcher ... not just two guys throwing a ball. If they hadn't inserted it, OOO's would use this ruling to apply to the OP, like you seem to want to.

If you're interested ... this ruling doesn't FIT.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Why not ... the ruling was supposed to specifically address someone warming up as a pitcher ... not just two guys throwing a ball. If they hadn't inserted it, OOO's would use this ruling to apply to the OP, like you seem to want to.
So what you're saying is a coach can beat this rule as long as he doesn't verbalize his intention.
If a coach brings out a ball for a specific player he probably has a specific reason.
I'm not an OOO but I would be inclined to stop it, or at the very least make it a very quick conference.

Similar but different sitch
As def. coach approaches mound for conference F6 yells to F1 and says"hey Joe, throw me the ball"
F6 and F5 play catch during conference with no apparent direction from coach, now I have nothing.

Last edited by CO ump; Thu Aug 23, 2007 at 11:11am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by CO ump
So what you're saying is a coach can beat this rule as long as he doesn't verbalize his intention.
If a coach brings out a ball for a specific player he probably has a specific reason.
I'm not an OOO but I would be inclined to stop it, or at the very least make it a very quick conference.

Let's change the situation (without starting a new thread)"

1. Let's say a pitching change is being made. Coach then tosses ball to F1 who throws "grounders" to F4, F5, and F6 who throw the ball back to F1.

Is this okay in your games?

2. Pitching change is not being made, just a conference. Again, coach then tosses ball to F1 who throws "grounders" to F4, F5, and F6 who throw the ball back to F1.

Is this okay in your games?
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
This is another one of those funky FED rulings that opens a fresh can of worms.

If the coach doesn't verbally indicate that he's giving the kids the ball besause one of them "might be needed to pitch", then I guess you just have two guys throwing a ball around.

It takes two to toss it. Without some verbal indication, how do you know which kid is warming up and which is the surrogate catcher? Aren't they both essentially "warming up"?

Absent the verbal, "Here you go, Lefty. Start warming up to pitch", if no pitching change was made during the visit to the mound, how do you know if one of them was really warming up?

Suppose you let the two kids throw it around, but no pitching change is made at that time. Does this preclude bringing either of the two players in to pitch at some point later in the game?

If not, how would you retroactively go back and tell somebody not to do something they already did two innings ago that is clearly a violation?

Inquiring minds want to know!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1