![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
I am familiar with the 8-4-2-o: Any runner is out when he: positions himself behind a base to get a running start. No mention of fair or foul territory. I suppose runners that stand in foul territory at 3B are guilty of an infraction with your logic.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
Quote:
The question was about a lead from first base, not any base.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
It does NOT have to be in fair territory to be legal.
__________________
Tony Smerk OHSAA Certified Class 1 Official Sheffield Lake, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
Tim. Last edited by BigUmp56; Mon Jul 30, 2007 at 10:50pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
The rule states positions himself behind a bag to get a running start. This rule is there to prevent runners from taking a running start and timing it so they will have momentum going to the next base on a sacrifice fly. The other rule is there to prevent a base runner from having an advantage to interfere with a throw from F1 to F3. 8-4-2o has nothing to do about where a base runner establishes his lead. It merely states he cannot position himself behind a bag to get a running start. I would think a coach would want a runner with 93 foot lead as opposed to an eighty foot run with a ten foot lead, with a running start no less. Now show me a rule where it is specifically states a runner must be in fair territory to establish a lead.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
R1 can not position himself in front of F3 in an attempt to screen F3's view of F1 on a pickoff attempt.
8.4.2 Situation G: In the opinion of the umpire, R1, when leading off first base, moves up to the front of the baseline, thus effectively screening F3 from the ball on F1’s attempted pickoff. Ruling: R1 shall be called out for interference. Comment: If this is not ruled to be interference, the runner gains an advantage not intended by the rule. This maneuver taught by some coaches shall be penalized.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]()
njdevscup,
I'm not Ozzy, but no, the runner does not have to come back to the direct line between 1B and 2B in advancing if he takes a "45* degree lead" off of 1B. With a very few exceptions (i.e. the "running start on a retouch" and "positioning to interfere with the fielder's vision" mentioned earlier in this thread, when avoiding a tag, and running in a way that interferes with a protected fielder's opportunity to field) the runner may take virtually any path he likes in advancing on the bases. He can't abandon his effort to run, enter dead ball territory, nor illegally run the bases in reverse order. Other than that, it's up to him and it's legal. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
D3K & Leading off | richez | Softball | 14 | Wed May 10, 2006 10:48am |
The blind leading.... | cowbyfan1 | Baseball | 4 | Mon Dec 12, 2005 08:58pm |
Leading Off | SCREF | Baseball | 10 | Sat Aug 23, 2003 12:10am |