Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
					
				 
				Please cite a rule reference where it states the base runner must take his lead in fair territory. 
  
I am familiar with the 8-4-2-o: Any runner is out when he: positions himself behind a base to get a running start. No mention of fair or foul territory. I suppose runners that stand in foul territory at 3B are guilty of an infraction with your logic. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 
The question was about a lead from first base, not any base.