The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 09, 2002, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 711
Send a message via ICQ to Jim Porter Send a message via Yahoo to Jim Porter
Here's a call I made in the RIMSBL Over-30's Finals this past season. I caught a lot of grief. However, I would've caught a lot of grief no matter which way I called it.

A strange hopper was hit to F4, shaded towards F3. F3 started for the ball, and then thought better of it. F4 fielded the ball and tried to throw to F3, who was on the run. He missed it, and the ball bounced over to the fence.

After the BR over-ran first, he didn't immediately realize that the ball had been overthrown. Once he did, he flinched toward second, but immediately stopped himself when he saw F2 field the errant throw. F2 flipped to F3, who chased the BR down and applied a tag.

My call: Out!

So, did I deserve the grief I caught? Is a, "flinch," toward second enough for you to decide that the BR did not, "return immediately," to first? Or would you require more, like a step toward second, before you'll terminate the BR's protection? Should I have said something to the BR to let him know he was in jeopardy? Give it to me good!
__________________
Jim Porter
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1